Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Although I was intrigued by the different flavours, the flavour created was a mixture of weird and bland. I also think there were too many lentils this stew was very thick. I don't hate it but I will not make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
i am married to an Argentinian, and when I made this for him as an appetizer...with a few less lentils...he said it reminded him of eating at his favorite aunts. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
It didn't say what kind of lentils - so I used orange. I think perhaps I should have used brown, as orange cook quite quickly and the carrots and onions weren't quite done. We still really liked the finished results - but next time I'll start the veggies at the same time as the lentils (or try brown lentils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
THIS RECIPES IS SO GREAT, IT'S AMAZING. I ADDED 1/2 CUP BBQ SAUCE AND EXTRA PAPRIKA, AND IT WAS DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Unusual, healthy and fabulous--my favorite combination! Not sure why it is called "Argentine"--my son-in-law is from Argentina and says they don't have anything resembling barbeque sauce there. But, he likes it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is fabulous! I never knew lentils and apples were such a great combination. As another reviewer has mentioned, the carrots don't go completely soft, but I like crunchy vegetables so this is a plus for me. I didn't have any bbq sauce on hand but I was determined to make this so I threw together a sauce from ketchup, vinegar, sugar, Worchester sauce and smoke granules. It didn't taste exactly like bbq sauce but I'm loving the flavour of the stew so much that I would consider using this home-made concoction again when I make this meal next time. There will definitely be a next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very good! The apples add a sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
AWESOME, AWESOME recipe. Thanks so much for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This Argentine lentil stew is surprisingly delicious!!! I followed the recipe precisely and the stew turned out great! The ingredients combined very well. The lentils are soft while the vegetables (and apples) remain slightly crisp. The stew is a little spicy, a little sweet, and very filling; a perfect meal for the cold winter nights. I am very pleased with this recipe and it will definitely become a regular meal in my home. This is the best recipe I have found on allrecipes.com, I would rate it a 10 if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Charming idea. I thought the apple would be weird, but it turned out great. Goes SO fabolously if you mix in some mango chutnry in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States