Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I'm new to lentils. After I made this meal I discovered elsewhere that you are supposed to rinse you lentils before you boil them. So, I would add that to the directions. The stew was pretty good but I think there are modifications that I would make next time to make it an excellent stew. I would replace the apples with potatoes. Other reviewers said the apples made the stew too sweet. I like sweet things, but the apples or the BBQ sauce did make it too sweet. I used original BBQ sauce. I felt kind of like I was eating vegeatables in BBQ sauce, it was too strong. Next time I'll use tomato sauce and add 1/4 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp chili powder. The stew was great with challah bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good lentils dish but next time I make it, I will leave the apples out b/c I thought they made the dish too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Since I am diabetic, I substituted the BBQ sauce with tomatoe sauce and added 1 t of sweet agave syrup. We loved it and after reading the other reviews, I'll try some other variations in the future. I didn't use an entire large onion, mine was huge, so I would suggest adding an alternate mea. such as 1 Cup(?) as a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We call this one a keeper. Next time I may add a bit of cumin and more garlic. I could easily see some bits of chicken or sausage as well in the mix. Definitely filling and great with some cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent. I used a can of stewed tomatoes, plus a fresh one, and recalculated the recipes for 6 servings. After the other good reviews, I felt 4 servings would not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS STEW!!! I was looking for something quick and simple and warming, and this fit the bill to a T! I adde cubed potatoe and a tsp of chili powder for some kick, and it came out absolutely perfect, served over steamed rice with a grilled chicken breast. My husband actually stopped watching the football match for a full 30 seconds to tell me how delicious it was, and if you knew my husband and his obssession with football, you would know what a compliment this is! Thanks so much Frank, this one is going to be a new favourite in my recipe box! I'd give it a 10 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very nice recipe. The one ingredient that will make or break this recipe is the BBQ sauce used. I've made this with both a sweet sauce and spicy, and it comes out as entirely different taste (both VG). Not bad on the health numbers either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe. I LOVE lentils and wanted to try something different than my usual Curry Lentils. Love the sweetness that the BBQ sauce and apple bring balanced by the garlic and onion. Will make again! I did cook my veggies and fruit until they were soft and used chicken stock b/c I had no veg. bullion, but besides that...didn't really change. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I didn't change a thing. The flavors blended so beautifully together it was a delight to my tastebuds. This is a great "warm your tummy stew", even though I'm in South America and it's summer here! Went very well with Honey Corn Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Senoia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I'm always looking for ways to make healthy, fresh produce without sacrificing flavor. This unlikely combination of ingredients is a delightful surprise. The aroma lured my neighbor into my house to find out what I was cooking, and he ended up taking some home to his family. I brought it into work the next day, and everyone who sampled it asked for the recipe. It keeps well, so doubling the recipe guarantees you a good supply without losing any of the flavor. I actually think this is one of those recipes that tastes better after the ingredients have had some time to blend, so plan to have leftovers. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States