Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Surprisingly good! I was really hesitant about the bbq sauce, but it wasn't overpowering. I did NOT put an apple in, just 'cause. I sauteed a small diced onion and 1/2 a pepper in olive oil until softened before adding the lentils and broth. I used homemade chicken broth instead of water & bouillon, added cumin, italian seasoning, and a touch of caraway seed. I also use homemade bbq sauce - Big Al's K.C. from this site. Oh! And the carrots did not cook up completely in the time allotted. Another reviewer brought this up and suggested adding the carrots at the beginning. I think next time I will add them in when I start sauteing the onions and peppers. There will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe. I thought it came out a little better than okay, and would have given it three stars, but my husband would not eat it at all. I don't think that the bbq sauce and apples mix well together. I think it works in concept, but still needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Delicious! I pureed some (but not all) with an immersion blender before adding the peas. Added the peas in the last 5 minutes. Loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I wasn't sure what to expect with the BBQ sauce/apples/lentils, but it's amazing! I used canned crushed tomatoes, 2 carrots and chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I'm new to lentils. After I made this meal I discovered elsewhere that you are supposed to rinse you lentils before you boil them. So, I would add that to the directions. The stew was pretty good but I think there are modifications that I would make next time to make it an excellent stew. I would replace the apples with potatoes. Other reviewers said the apples made the stew too sweet. I like sweet things, but the apples or the BBQ sauce did make it too sweet. I used original BBQ sauce. I felt kind of like I was eating vegeatables in BBQ sauce, it was too strong. Next time I'll use tomato sauce and add 1/4 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp chili powder. The stew was great with challah bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good lentils dish but next time I make it, I will leave the apples out b/c I thought they made the dish too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Since I am diabetic, I substituted the BBQ sauce with tomatoe sauce and added 1 t of sweet agave syrup. We loved it and after reading the other reviews, I'll try some other variations in the future. I didn't use an entire large onion, mine was huge, so I would suggest adding an alternate mea. such as 1 Cup(?) as a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We call this one a keeper. Next time I may add a bit of cumin and more garlic. I could easily see some bits of chicken or sausage as well in the mix. Definitely filling and great with some cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States