Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I used Annie's Naturals Smoky Maple BBQ and smoked paprika and it was unbelievable! The kids ate extra helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Super delicious! I've been looking for a good lentil recipe. I saved this one a couple years ago. Its a shame that I didn't try it until now!!! I didn't have 3 fresh tomatoes, so I tossed in some canned diced tomatoes I had sitting around...probably didn't add quite enough (12 ounces) to compensate for 3 tomatoes. Also I liked the suggestion to throw the carrots in with the lentils. The recipe didn't clarify whether to cook it uncovered or with the lid on. I chose to cook it uncovered for the first 20 mins. If I do it again, I will put the lid on the entire time, I think too much heat escaped. Also, I loved the suggestion to add some more spices, so I put 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper, cumin, oregono, basil, 1 bay leaf, and a few rosemary springs. This turned out very savory!! It truly is way too easy for how delicious it is!! Having lived in Argentina for a while, I wonder about adding some spiced sausage (Argentine chorizo-not the Mexican kind) to the recipe and maybe some chunks of beef. The Argentine lentil soups/stews I had while I was there are some of the tastiest I've ever had. I wish there were more Argentine recipes on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Although I usually follow a recipe to a T the first time I make it, I improvised this one from the start. I used a whole 16-oz. bag of dried lentils and increased the seasonings accordingly, added two more carrots and another cup of peas. I replaced the fresh tomatoes with a can of stewed roasted. It filled my 5-quart pot, which is good. Anyway, I loved this soup and can't wait to share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was skeptical of this right up until I took the first bite - I was certain it was going to be awful! I loved it, but my husband wasn't wowed...so the odd combination of ingredients does create a taste that's not for everyone. I added some chili pepper for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I'm giving this three stars because it was four star quality the way that I made it but since I made a few changes I'm deducting a star. I added a bay leaf and some fresh rosemary to the lentils at the start. I also sauteed the onions and garlic before adding them. I added some dried oregano and cayenne pepper for a little extra flavor. And lastly, I pureed about one third of the soup to make it a little thicker. Lovely recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
It is pretty good. I made some changes based on the ingredients I had available. I used a can of beef broth as part of the qt water. Can of green beans instead of peas. A bit more of the bbq sauce. A bit more of the paprika. And you will need salt and pepper for taste. After i added all the ingredients and let it simmer for 20 minutes...hhmmmm....nope, not enough time. So i put on boiling for 10 minutes and then turned the stove off. Very good. I'd make it again. I was a bit afraid of using the apple, but it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It was good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good. I added sweet potato and apple with the lentils for softer texture. I used 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and 8.5 oz cans of carrots, peas and corn to save on prep time. The broth was very liquid like, but I added some water with cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I aslo used a beef bullion because I thought it would work better with the Kraft Brown Sugar Thick and Spicy BBQ sauce I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Wonderful combination of flavors...and lentils are sooo good for you, but don't tell the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Carr
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Too much BBQ sauce. Took over dish, maybe a TBS next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States