Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very tasty! Thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is nice. I replaced the apples for potatoes and used spicy BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really liked the apple in this stew; it added a nice flavor to it, especially when combined with the BBQ sauce. It's great that it's also super easy to make, and with ingredients that I typically have hanging around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Tasty and easy to make. Great for adding all those little extras you have in the fridge. I made mine with french lentils and added potatoes, celery, and golden beets. Half of the BBQ sauce is more than enough. Bay leaves and a rosemary sprig for a herby flavor (removed at the end).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Barbecue sauce in soup turned out to be a little strange. We all ate it, and it was o.k., but I wouldn't make it again. I would definitely put the carrots, onions, apples, and tomatoes in at the beginning so they get soft (the apple was still a little crunchy after 20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I would give this 10 stars if they offered the option!! This stew is the best stew I have ever had!! It is almost like there is meat in there but there isn't. The unique combination of the ingredients just awakens the taste buds! Amazing recipe, this is going on my favorite foods list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a unique combination of sweet and tangy flavors. We loved it! I followed the recipe as directed except for one thing. Instead of plain salt I used my homemade verision of seasoned salt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
A meat-less dish from Argentina? I was a skeptic until I tried this recipe. My dad is from Argentina and is curious about the actual origin but I am sold! I made this for an international pot luck at our office during the last world cup and everyone loved it. I have been hooked ever since. I of course lie to add some extra spice to keep things interesting. I like to make a big pot of it and eat lots of leftovers, I think it's even better after a good marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
It was awesome. I added a green beans, bay leaf, some cumin, a little cayenne, and some red pepper flakes to bring out more awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is delicious, warming, filling. A good mix of sweet, spicy and savory. The leftovers were even better. It was the first time I have ever cooked with lentils, so I was a little nervous, but shouldn't have been. If you are a first timer, remember to sort them and rinse them first, and you are good to go. Just some really minor changes/subs: Scaled to six servings. Used canned diced tomatoes (no good fresh ones at the market.) Used a bit of house seasoning with garlic when I realized too late (oops!) that I was out of garlic. Put the carrots in at the beginning of cooking, because some family members like a softer texture. Let my husband put the paprika in, and his "eyeballing" is a little off, so we ended up with a good bit more than what it called for. Didn't add salt. Everything else as written. Since the bbq sauce used probably plays a part in the flavor, I will say I used bulls-eye kansas city sauce. Along the same lines, my bouillon brand is Vegeta. The apple I used was a Braeburn, and the texture after cooking was perfect. Hope that helps someone out there! On a more personal note: Earned rave reviews from my 10 year old who is the pickiest eater ever. We often struggle with getting him to try new things so I was amazed at his positive reaction to it. Everyone else loved it as well: My adventurous eating 4 year old, my veggie husband, my dad who is trying to eat healthier, and myself of course. Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States