Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have any problems with the cooking time as listed. I used red lentils and added some red bell pepper to the mix. Very pretty and kid-friendly, yet different enough to serve to guests. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
amazing! Loved it, everyone (including both kids 1.5 & 4.5) thought it was amazing. Used green lentils and this stuff called "mopping sauce" because we didn't have barbeque sauce, and it was wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this to-night and with very few changes - I added another carrot, some celery and a parsnip I had in the frig. Also I only cooked the lentils 10 minutes before adding the vegetables. We're trying to have more vegetarian meals and we both agree - this is a 10+. I'll definitely be making this more often - really, really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was very good, but turned out more like a soup. I respected the directions, but in retrospect the quart of water might have been too much, as the other ingredients give out juice also (tomatoes etc). The paprika does not come through at all when you use just the half a teaspoon. The apples stayed a bit hard, but that might have been that I used red delicious, while granny smith are better for cooking. Very good and healthy dish otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This stew tastes OK (I have tasted for seasoning). However, I started cooking this on Tuesday morning and, it is now Wednesday (almost midday), and the lentils are still not soft. I have added more and more water in the hope that the lentils will absorb it but so far no luck. Can anyone explain this and tell me if I can save the dish - I hate wasting food and I can't serve this to my husband as it is; a farmer needs a decent meal in the evening!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VivM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I just love this recipe, although it's more like a soup than a stew. It's incredibly tasty, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good! My son requests this weekly. I make a lot and we have it for several days. Also my family is from Costa Rica, and they request this dish when they come to visit me in the States! Thank you! Healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have to admit, while it was cooking I was unsure of it all. It turned out wonderful. My 11 year old wanted to give it 100 stars. Only changes I made were that I doubled it, I used chicken broth (5 cans in a double batch) instead of water and vegetable boullion, and I used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes. Hearty, tasty and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was just okay to me (more like 3.5 stars).... a little bland even after I added the additional spices suggested by other reviewers. The tasty lentil tacos recipe on this website is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wow, this recipe is so good and a wonderful take on your regular lentil soup. I added chopped celery, doubled the garlic, used chicken stock instead of water, and substituted a 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes for fresh ones. Put in all of you vegetable at the beginning if you want them soft, which I do. The addition of cumin powder, chili powder, and a few dashes of hot sauce makes this stew just right. Purée half of the soup for a rich consistency. Reserve the peas to add during the last couple minutes of cooking. I wouldn't purée the peas. This healthy, satisfying soup is a keeper. Serve with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States