Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This stew is amazing. I often share my cooking with a single older lady next door and she said this is the BEST soup I have shared. I did use chicken broth instead of water/veggie boullion, and added 1/4 tspof cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp of celery seed, and 1/4 tsp cumin, and very little amt of bbq sauce. It was so good without. Will make this a lot this winter to share and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Personally I didn't like the combination of sweet and savory. Every time I bit into one of the apple pieces, I kept wishing it was potato instead. So next time I make this, I will use potato instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was pretty good. I used red lentils, and I think they are too delicate here, so they turned to mush by the time the dish was cooked. The dish could do with some more zing, so I added a squeeze of lemon juice on top at the table. Very healthy and low in calories. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
very delicious. unfortunately, kids wouldnt touch it except to dip their bread in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Ok, seriously, lentils+ apples+ barbecue sauce? What a combo, I was shocked. I followed the recipe so closely, I was proud of myself. Only, non-significant changes I made were to sub the veg. bouillon for a little salt, add a pinch of pepper and chilli powder, and leave all the peels on. And I used 3/4 a cup of peas, I liked the color:D Sooo yummy, and great sized servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good and the fact that it's so healthy makes it even better. I was a little unsure of the BBQ sauce but the flavors blend very well together. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have any problems with the cooking time as listed. I used red lentils and added some red bell pepper to the mix. Very pretty and kid-friendly, yet different enough to serve to guests. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
amazing! Loved it, everyone (including both kids 1.5 & 4.5) thought it was amazing. Used green lentils and this stuff called "mopping sauce" because we didn't have barbeque sauce, and it was wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this to-night and with very few changes - I added another carrot, some celery and a parsnip I had in the frig. Also I only cooked the lentils 10 minutes before adding the vegetables. We're trying to have more vegetarian meals and we both agree - this is a 10+. I'll definitely be making this more often - really, really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was very good, but turned out more like a soup. I respected the directions, but in retrospect the quart of water might have been too much, as the other ingredients give out juice also (tomatoes etc). The paprika does not come through at all when you use just the half a teaspoon. The apples stayed a bit hard, but that might have been that I used red delicious, while granny smith are better for cooking. Very good and healthy dish otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States