Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was pretty okay. I made it exactly as written except instead of the fresh tomatoes, I used a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes slightly drained. I agree with some of the other reviewers, it is kind of bland and the carrots do not get done. I will put the carrots in with the lentils the next time if I do make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Very good. I made it just the way it is and had it for lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Ehh...good but somewhat bland. I added some curry to spice it up. Maybe its just my personal take on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This stew is amazing! My fiance begs me to make it at least once a week, which is quite the accomplishment because he is a meat and potatoes man. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Absolutely delicious recipe! I was skeptical about the lentil, apple and BBQ sauce combo, but when it was finished it had the most hardy and flavorful taste that I never would have imagined. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Charming idea. I thought the apple would be weird, but it turned out great. Goes SO fabolously if you mix in some mango chutnry in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This Argentine lentil stew is surprisingly delicious!!! I followed the recipe precisely and the stew turned out great! The ingredients combined very well. The lentils are soft while the vegetables (and apples) remain slightly crisp. The stew is a little spicy, a little sweet, and very filling; a perfect meal for the cold winter nights. I am very pleased with this recipe and it will definitely become a regular meal in my home. This is the best recipe I have found on allrecipes.com, I would rate it a 10 if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
AWESOME, AWESOME recipe. Thanks so much for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very good! The apples add a sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is fabulous! I never knew lentils and apples were such a great combination. As another reviewer has mentioned, the carrots don't go completely soft, but I like crunchy vegetables so this is a plus for me. I didn't have any bbq sauce on hand but I was determined to make this so I threw together a sauce from ketchup, vinegar, sugar, Worchester sauce and smoke granules. It didn't taste exactly like bbq sauce but I'm loving the flavour of the stew so much that I would consider using this home-made concoction again when I make this meal next time. There will definitely be a next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States