Argentine Chimichurri Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This bread smells like Heaven, and tastes even better!!! My mouth was watering the whole time it was baking! I substitued basalmic vinegar, because I was out of white, and it was delicious! My 7-year old didn't like it due to the cayenne pepper, but we 8 grown ups were happy to eat her share! We dipped it in fresh olive oil...oh WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I thought this was very good. I made it for memorial day weekend and everyone loved it's unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Wonderful bread recipe! The loaf was dense and high. Very flavorful. The cayenne is just enough to add a tingle to the inside of the mouth. The combination of onion, garlic and oregano is very tasty. I left in the bread machine thru the 2nd rise, then formed it into a loaf and bake in a 9X5 bread pan at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Perfect bread, Tom! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I did enjoy this bread. I thought it lacked a little in cayenne, and the oregano was somewhat overpowering, but that may be my personal taste. I would guess it goes really well with beef, though as a vegetarian I was stuck with eating it with baked beans. Decent stuff, and good toasted, just go easy on the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I thought this bread was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This bread tasted nothing like I thought it would. But let me tell you, I was not disappointed in the least! The spices marry wonderfully for a very unique taste. I used my bread machine to mix the dough, then baked in a 9X5 pan at 400 degrees for 30 minutes like another review had suggested. When first pulled from the oven, the outside of the bread was very hard. However, after cooling for 10 minutes, it became softer and very easy to slice. The consistency of the inside of the bread was soft and moist. This bread was a wonderful compliment to our pork and sauerkraut dinner. The next day, I used the left-overs to make sandwiches and the bread was still soft fresh tasting. I highly recommend this bread. Please give it a try. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Although this is a bread machine recipe, I used my Kitchenaid with the dough hook. I substituted Argentine Aji Molino chiles for the cayenne (they have a very smoky, earthy flavor). I actually made this bread into buns and baked at 350 for 20 minutes and allowed the buns to cool in the oven (to assure they got baked all the way through). I sereved them with BBQ pulled pork. What a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I found this bread easy to make, delicious. I changed the flour to whole wheat, added 2 tbsp.of bran flakes, and instead of minced garlic, I used 2 tbsp of garlic powder. It seemed to distribute the taste better throughout the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I think this ia a very good recipe, although for me, it smelled great (I mean really, really great!) but the taste just didn't live up to it. I made the dough exactly as written except I, like another reviewer, substitued garlic powder for the minced garlic and I don't recommend that. I think this bread needs all the kick it can get, so don't be lazy like me :-), the fresh garlic probably needs to be there. I felt the Oregano was overpowering and I will subtract at least a tbsp next time. I also think I might like to add just a bit more cayenne pepper. I used my bread machine to make the dough and then with well oiled hands I shaped the dough into small balls in a 9x9 pan to create dinner rolls, allowing them to rise an additional 30 minutes. I baked them for approx 35 minutes at 350. These rose well, the texture was great, they make a fabulous crusty dinner roll to serve with salads or soup, and again, the smell was fantastic. The taste though just wasn't what I was expecting. It simply tasted like a fresh homemade french bread roll, with a tiny bit of spiciness. Now you must know that I made these for my Argentine husband, who is standing behind me as I type this, insisting that I tell you HE loved them and wants me to make them again. He says, and I quote; "they're delicious". He's the best husband in the whole world, so of course I will make them for him again :-) Thank you for the recipe Tom, and Diego Thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This bread turned out great, and I was a little bit worried because I didn't have the 3 tbsp of wheat bran, so I substituted 3 tbsp oat bran but turned out no problem. I used the bread maker on dough/pasta cycle and then just took the dough out, divided it and made 1 dozen medium sized dinner rolls which I baked for 20 minutes at 350, great recipe worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States