Arancini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was really high maintenance and once my risotto cooled a bit, it was difficult for the balls to keep form. The flavor was pretty good with the ones I got done in time, but to me it was too much effort for the final result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This dish was worth the prep time. I cooked the ham in the pan that I ended up making the risotto in to add some great flavor to it, and then added about double the ham that the recipe called for. Tasted wonderful, made it a little bit more hearty, and I didn't have the issue that other reviewers had about having a hard time forming it into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Love it! I made it into a flat cake with my hamburger press, then breaded and pan fried it...very good. I'll add a bit more herbs aand garlic though next time. Alot like a red rice cake I had at a swanky restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Delicious! I used bacon instead of ham, and omited the peas. Very time consuming, but well worth it. I served them as appetizers with a side of red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaB82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ostrander, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Fantastic! Easier than I thought to make. I took the advice I read in one of the reviews and let the rice cool completely and also added a little breadcrumbs to the rice. Once the balls were formed I put them in the freezer to become firm. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I am a pretty good cook. This is my firsttime making these or risotto. Seemed after the first 2.5 cups of broth was used up the rice was still hard so I kept adding broth,little by little until rice was cooked. The risotto was pretty moist, and I couldnt get it into ball form. Tried rolling & fell apart. I put it in fridge hoping the risotto will dry out & firm up. We shall see
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the directions to the T, omitting the peas and ham. I was nervous as it sounded difficult to do, but they turned out beautifully! Next time, I will cool the risotto in the fridge a bit before forming into balls and make them more "bite size" as I read to be traditional. Thanks for sharing the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My husband grew up eating these at the holidays and he gave them a big thumbs up, along with my seven year old. A couple of tweaks from me follow. I was concerned about them being bland as some suggested so I browned about a quarter pound of groud beef and then waited the onion and garlic in the same pan. I also used sushi rice because Ii think it is more sticky. I also used three pinches of saffron like another reviewer suggested. My husband prefers these without cheese in the middle so I skipped that part. Use Italian bread crumbs for more flavor too. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an epic fail on my part. I'm giving 1 star not because of taste but because of assemble-ability...I could not get the risotto to a consistency that I could roll it at. I ended up having to bake them in a muffin tin to get something edible. What is the secret to rolling them? I make risotto all the time so it's not that. Perhaps I need to let the risotto get really cold first?? HELP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
much easier to make using truly leftover risotto... the mixture is very wet and hard to form into balls. I added a smidge of flour to the rice/egg mixture to make it bind better. They are fine without the mozzarella center, use slices of mozzarella sticks to make that easy. It is easier to form the balls by using a cookie dough scooper... smash rice against side of ball, slip the mozzarella in, press into side again to tighten it up. Also, after rolling in bread crumbs, let the balls rest on waxed paper for 10-15 minutes while you heat the oil. Took me about 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States