Arancini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
The obscenities flew out of my mouth while making these balls, but boy did they fly into the mouths of my dinner guests! This dish is for a patient chef- allow 3-4 hours to make these. However, these are exceptional. Truly restaurant-quality. I eliminated the peas and didn't miss them (this probably makes it easier to shape the balls). Don't be concerned about the overwhelming flavor of the parmesan-risotto mixture, it's just right once the balls are battered and cooked. The oil I used to cook the balls didn't cover them, so I fried them for about 3-4 minutes on one side and then flipped. The less handling, the better. And they reheat beautifully in the oven to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Pretty good. I have eaten these with a meat center. I mixed ground beef with peas and mozzarella and put it in the center of the ball. You only need small amount. Eat these hot, with marinara sauce! This is a day long process, so block out some time to make these. Worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Have made these a few times, the first time I struggled greatly getting the rice to form into neat round balls however I found if you place the risotto in the fridge for a couple of hours it makes it really simple to shape. The only other thing I would suggest is using bacon instead of ham, you don't need much put it provides a more distinct flavour and also gives them an extra crunch. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I made this as an appetizer for a dinner party. I prepared them a week in advance and froze, then reheated in oven. Served with some mixed lettuce leaves and a small portion of ambrosia.....delish. I did find the mixture a little sloppy to form balls but struggled through and they were perfect. Will definatley be making again but maybe without the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZARDAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narre Warren, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
WORTH IT, I'D SAY SO...I ADDED A LITTLE BIT OF THE BREAD CRUMBS TO THE MIX TO HELP FORM THE BALLS. IT ALSO HELPS TO CHILL THE MIX. THE RESULTS ARE FAB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are excellent. But don't make the mistake I did: thinking the risotto was too thick, I watered it down with some additional chicken broth. Of course it needs to be thick to hold together well around the cheese. I have tried making these smaller for appetizers and they are a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allegra
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Messy and time consuming but absolutely worth it! I must admit, I did not add the peas or the ham...added a touch of saffron instead. The wine is essential! I made a marinara sauce for dipping as well, which was very well received. Reheats nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This is incredible. I won third place in a cook off where you could make anything as long as you used rice. The only reason I placed third was because a judge was ?scared? of peas. I had a blast making it, and EVERYONE thought I should have won. My platter was cleaned out first. Thank you for an incredible recipe that I have now promised my whole family I will add to our Thanksgiving feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Almost like my mother-in-laws! I substituted the ham with ground beef and onions sautéed in home made marinara sauce and peas, and added a couple of pinches of saffron to the rice to give it an authentic color and flavor. After the rice is cooled I pre-made the rice balls then rolled LIGHTLY in the flour and let them sit slighlty. Then I used a teaspoon to make a small hole and stuffed them with the ground beef and shredded Mozzerella enclosed the hole and dipped it in the egg mixture and then bread crumbs. Finally I used a deep fryer to fry them. Next time I will use half the wine, since it was a little overbearing but all in all I was pleasantly surprised. Even my Mother-In-law was impressed. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
much easier to make using truly leftover risotto... the mixture is very wet and hard to form into balls. I added a smidge of flour to the rice/egg mixture to make it bind better. They are fine without the mozzarella center, use slices of mozzarella sticks to make that easy. It is easier to form the balls by using a cookie dough scooper... smash rice against side of ball, slip the mozzarella in, press into side again to tighten it up. Also, after rolling in bread crumbs, let the balls rest on waxed paper for 10-15 minutes while you heat the oil. Took me about 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States