Aracely's Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
People said this was the best flan ever! I did make it a day ahead and all the juicy caramel sank into the flan. I thought that made it a failure but my guests loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I love that this recipe is done on the stove. It worked. I made it in a pie plate with a steamer basket. It was ready in 40 min. I would make this again. It is rich. I only had 5 egg yolks and a 5 oz can of evaporated milk so I added 8 oz of regular milk to substitue the missing evaporated milk. I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. Since I did not have the extra yolk and I wanted to be sure it set I added a teaspoon of cornstarch. My family liked it but it was very rich and sweet. I would not add the 10 yolks, it would be to eggy for my families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Awesome AUTHENTIC FLAN!!! I have been asked to make this SOOOOOOO many times! A true hit! And PLEASE don't bake it! Steaming as directed is what gives it the awesome texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puertogerm
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
pretty yummy. I did the oven thing with a water bath. added 1.5 tsp of vanilla. My mom said she adds to a little lemon rind too to the caramel. i'll have to try that next time. I think too this time I had over cooked the sugar. Definitely will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very easy to make. It was too sweet and too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the first time I tried making Flan. I had just made an angel food cake and wanted to use up the egg yolks so I tried this recipe. I too found the flan to be VERY sweet and I like sweet things. It also tasted quite eggy and not like the flan I remember. I think I will look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
My daughter made a chocolate angel food cake and I had 10 yolks to use up, so this fit the bill. I thought the flan was a little on the heavy side, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is so good! Only change I made is to add 1 teas of vanilla. I discovered this recipe because I was looking for something to make using the 10-11 egg yolks leftover from making an Angel Food Cake with 11 egg whites. This fits the bill! Plus, my dinner guests absolutely love it!!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Braden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My two year old hit the nail on the head when he said with a mouth full of this flan, "MMM! Delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was pretty good. I really liked the caramel made from brown sugar instead of white. I baked my in the oven in a water bath like other reviewers. I think 60 minutes was just a bit too long. Next time I will check it at 50-55 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States