Arabic Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I was excited to find this recipe, as we had picked up some "cookies" from a bakery that had a slight coconut flavor, but we couldn't figure out where to start to find a recipe to replicate these cookies. When searching Lebanese recipes I found this recipe. I made the recipe as stated and I find that it's a good starting point for a tasty cookie (not just the one I'm in search of), but it needs more! It's dry, so I will try making this again with milk as a liquid. I also think that quick oats need to be used for a finer texture, more coconut, and some vanilla. You also have to really be careful about watching these cookies! Take them out right at 10 minutes or they will be hard. I will re post my review when I make the adjustments stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very hardy cookie and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
These are not at all Arabic. Nothing about them is Arabic. And I tried them, they aren't anything special. After the first batch, I had to doctor them up Royally in order for the second and third batch to come out "special".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Im jordanian, and I assure you, there is no such recipe for cookies around here. They're alright to make anyway, add a bit more coconut than it states though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
these are really tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These cookies are dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This looks great .... im an arab and these cookies are one of the best from the tradtitional recipes we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exotic Pineapple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
These cookies are very good! My son just loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
i halved the recipe. the first time i tried, was too lazy to get my shortening i just used 1 cup of soft margarine in place of 1/2 cup each for butter and shortening. Disastrous. the cookies were too soft that looked like mini round omellettes. Then, curious, tried the next day properly using shortening. was great. I cut the sugar (my dad's diabetics) from 1 cup per recipe to only 2/3 cup for half of recipe. i also added about half cup of walnut (to slow the release of sugar.. i read somewhere) it turned out really great, and i think was pretty safe for diabetics. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States