Arabic Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I was excited to find this recipe, as we had picked up some "cookies" from a bakery that had a slight coconut flavor, but we couldn't figure out where to start to find a recipe to replicate these cookies. When searching Lebanese recipes I found this recipe. I made the recipe as stated and I find that it's a good starting point for a tasty cookie (not just the one I'm in search of), but it needs more! It's dry, so I will try making this again with milk as a liquid. I also think that quick oats need to be used for a finer texture, more coconut, and some vanilla. You also have to really be careful about watching these cookies! Take them out right at 10 minutes or they will be hard. I will re post my review when I make the adjustments stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very hardy cookie and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
These are not at all Arabic. Nothing about them is Arabic. And I tried them, they aren't anything special. After the first batch, I had to doctor them up Royally in order for the second and third batch to come out "special".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Im jordanian, and I assure you, there is no such recipe for cookies around here. They're alright to make anyway, add a bit more coconut than it states though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
these are really tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These cookies are dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This looks great .... im an arab and these cookies are one of the best from the tradtitional recipes we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exotic Pineapple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
These cookies are very good! My son just loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
i halved the recipe. the first time i tried, was too lazy to get my shortening i just used 1 cup of soft margarine in place of 1/2 cup each for butter and shortening. Disastrous. the cookies were too soft that looked like mini round omellettes. Then, curious, tried the next day properly using shortening. was great. I cut the sugar (my dad's diabetics) from 1 cup per recipe to only 2/3 cup for half of recipe. i also added about half cup of walnut (to slow the release of sugar.. i read somewhere) it turned out really great, and i think was pretty safe for diabetics. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States