Apricot/Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
A nice twist on my usual cranberry sauce. Next time I'll use half the cider vinegar, though. (I just made another batch without it and combined them,it's perfect now.) I used finely-chopped crystallized ginger and added 1/2 tsp of Cardamom and the zest of a whole large orange for a truly great fragrance. This one's a keeper. I did use whole fresh cranberries, wasn't sure from the recipe of it meant dried cranberries, but the finished batch looks beautiful in my grandmother's crystal condiment dish.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
WOW!! My husband, who hates cranberry sauce, found a million ways to use this after our Thanksgiving dinner. We've had it on top of baked chicken, in wraps with turkey, chopped apples and lettuce, on roast beef sandwiches, and in various other dishes. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I used this recipe for a holiday appetizer and it was a big hit! I spooned it onto a brie wheel, baked it for 12-15 minutes, and served it with french bread. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
WOW! This came out great. Followed the recipe to the letter. However, Do not make the mistake I did and turn the heat up to fast at the begining. Start off at a simmer and end with a simmer. Otherwise you will burn the Mix. This dish moves fast so stay close to the oventop. Second try was a Major success. It came out wonderful and My kids ate it like candy. Grandma keeps pounding me for the recipe, of course I gave her the web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I read the review about too much vinegar before cooking. Since I don't like the smell & taste of it and I decided to decrease the amount to 1/4 cup vinegar and substitute 1/4 of ginger beer soda for the remaining vinegar. I also omitted the dry ginger. I really liked the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This is a great recipe. I added the rind of an orange and 1/4 C. vinegar instead of the 1/2 C. as suggested in one of the reviews. I think this would make a great gift for hoilday giving....Thank you for the recipe. Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherbg
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I am the person who posted this recipe.. per others' reviews, I now cut down on the Vinegar. I made the chutney this week, and this time I added orange rind, 1 teaspoon fresh orange juice, chopped dried cherries, and chopped pecans, and I think that it is even better! So glad that many people like this, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Made it as shown, but threw in a bit (1/4 c ttl) of diced dried candied pineapple and dried candied papaya for a bit of colour,texture. Terrific recipe! Nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Loved this! I increased the sugar a bit, and if I made it again, I'd reduce the vinegar. I also cooked it until the cranberries popped, which was a little longer than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I have made this twice now, both times using dried peaches instead of the apricots. The second time, I substituted granny smith apple for the raisins -- fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States