Apricot Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious. I use the same ingredients only on chicken breasts and everyone loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I've been using this recipe with chicken for years and never thought about using it with pork chops -- it was delicious! However, I use an entire jar of apricot preserves to balance the tanginess of the Russian dressing. And you don't need the full amount of the sauce for this many pork chops -- use half and save the other half for another meal. It keeps well for quite a while in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
So easy and so yummy. Especially during the winter...this is really comfort food cooking at its best! Make sure you serve it with mashed potatoes...the sauce is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My kids loved it and so did I. My husband is not a fruit and meat kinda guy and he actually liked it too! I will be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I only used a cup of the salad dressing and it was too overpowering. None of the apricot flavor came through. All five of us did not find this worth repeating. But, to be fair, I did use the crock pot and do not recommend it. It adds too much moisture and dilutes the sauce way to much. It was not even worth using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I did this in the slow cooker today for 4 hours. I took a suggestion from another user and used pineapple instead of apricot. My husband said I was authorized to make it again (which means he likes it in my house) and kids loved it. Next time I will try it with the apricot. I served this over rice with spinach as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I never made this recipe as stated, but I really like the idea. I didn't change it too much. What I did was use a pork tenderloin (I use anywhere from a 2-1 lbs but you can go bigger or smaller just adjust the cooking time.) I take a 1/2 tbsp sesame oil and 1/2 tbs Olive oil and warm in a nonstick pan over the stove. I spice the pork loin with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a few red pepper flakes. Then I brown the pork loin on all sides very quickly. While I am browning I warm up the over to at least 350, mix 1/2 packet onion soup mix, 8 ozs of apricot preserves, and 8-10ozs of french dressing, 1tsp sesame oil, and red pepper flakes. I put the pork loin in a foil lined pan, pour the sauce over it, and then wrap the foil around the pork tight. I cook 2/3 baking time covered, and 1/3 uncovered. Like I said about cooking times you will have to ajust the cooking times to your size pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Vista, Kansas, USA
Living In: Madisonville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I chose this recipe to prepare for a dinner party...14 guests...because I could prep ahead and do it in the oven. It was a big success and so easy! I do prefer the Catalina dressing however for a tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very yummy! Also good with chicken. Great in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I have been making a variation of this recipe for a long time, and it's a hit with my family every time I make it. It is similar to sweet and sour pork, but so much easier, and the sauce is delicious over rice. I use fat-free Catalina dressing and instead of apricot preserves, I use a small can of pineapple tidbits. Sometimes, I add some bell pepper strips. Best of all, I throw it all in the crockpot for 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low. Serve it with packaged fried rice (like Rice-A-Roni) and steamed veggies. Fast, easy, cheap, and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States