Apricot Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Really liked this bread. I love dried apricots and this was a great recipe to bake with them. I made 3 smalls loaves with mine. One without nuts and chocolate chips, one w/o chocolate chips and 1 as written. Everyone in my family had a favorite verison. I will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious! BUT..... DOUBLE the OJ SKIP the Milk, Nuts, and Chocolate Chips ADD 1 Tbs. Grated Orange Peel Brilliant recipe otherwise. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Following advice of others, I used 2/3 cup plus 1 Tbsp. orange juice. Also only used 3/4 cup apricots and replaced mini chocolate chips for the regular. I made them into muffins. I really like them, even though they don't have a very "wow" flavor. They're just very mellow, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
It looks like I'm the only one who had problems with this recipe. I could not get this bread to cook in the middle; I even cooked it extra time, and it was getting too dark on the top.It is a very crumbly bread--by the time I cut away the under-cooked middle, I was left with two ends of the bread, and they didn't look very appetizing. I wasn't impressed with the taste--a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
To combat the dryness other reviewers reported, I used 1 1/2 cups of mashed fresh apricots instead of the dried. Which made it very moist--almost too much so. I also omitted the choc. chips. Next time I would use only 1 to 1 1/4 cup of fresh fruit & add cinnamon or another spice to give it a bit more depth. With all of the fresh fruit, the OJ was somewhat overpowered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
very dry recipe, needs more butter or something, flavor is good though. I would try increasing the fat to 1/2 to 3/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZANNEHENDRIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Outstanding flavor! I love this bread recipe. Its a definite keep at this house. After reading some of the reviews about dryness I used 2/3 cup of frozen orange juice concentrate and 1/4 cup water.It turned out so moist and flavorful.The combination of orange, apricot and chocolate is so tasty. In spite of the changes in liquid ratio I felt it was still crumbly. Next time I will reduce the flour by 1/4 cup and see if that improves on the crumbly texture. Thanks for another delicious recipe Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is very good orange bread if you like to make bread. It is light and fluffy. I didn't add the apricots, chips, or nuts so it was very plain but good. It doesn't have much orange flavor but if accompanied by fruit or maybe orange glaze it could be more flavorful without the extra ingredients. It's quite crumbly and a little dry, so probably shouldn't be used for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This bread tastes wonderful, but it's quite crumbly. Just slicing it is a challenge. If I make it again I would reduce the amount of apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
That bread is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States