Apricot Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This had way too much apricot-it overpowered the dish. I may try it again with less and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was good but a little tto sweet for my taste. I would cut the sugar in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm not a big fan of sweet kugel, but my guests liked this a lot. I added chopped dried apricots and omitted the topping - it was totally fine without, and the edges of the noodles sticking out on top got nice and crispy. This is definitely a dessert - quite sweet and pretty rich. Next time I'd probably cut down the white sugar by half, since the nectar adds a lot of sweetness. Also, the middle never set, so I might add an extra egg?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is one of the best kugal receipes I've ever made. It was a hugh hit with my family! I plan on making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Unbelievable - so delish. I cut down on the butter though - it was just too much - and next time I might cut even more. I didn't have white sugar, so I used brown and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pavia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I didn't follow this exactly - but I used the basic amounts for a quick kugel with the ingredients I had on hand. I used a 12-oz box of tri-color twist pasta. I left out the apricot nectar and raisins - and even with a reduced amt of sugar it was plenty sweet for us. The rest was like the recipe but with a bit more cream cheese and 4 eggs instead of 3. I just sprinkled cinnamon and sugar for a topping. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wow! This kugel is terrific. I doubled the recipe to make enough for a potluck luncheon at work. I added peach nectar, instead of apricot - it was on sale. I chopped up some dried apricots in my food processor to replace the raisins. I don't really care for golden raisins. The cornflake topping really made the dish. I cut back on the butter, using 6 Tbs. instead of 1/2 cup in the topping. My grandmother was my inspiration for this dish and she would have been proud of me. It was almost as good as hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I've made this ahead of time twice now for group events, doubling the recipe for a 9x13 pan, reheating it just prior to the meal. Rave reviews! I have used apricot preserves as I have never seen apricot nectar & it works just fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Next time I will use a little less butter - it came out a bit greasy. That said, it's an awesome VERY sweet kugel and was a hit at my Break the Fast party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Followed this recipe with the exception of peach juice vs. apricot nectar (could not find any). It was good, my kids weren't real impressed. It falls into the category of a bread pudding or rice pudding and I prefer the other venues better. Just a matter of preference, it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States