Apricot Nectar Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My Mom has been gone for almost 20 years and some of her recipes are not complete. This was one of those recipes. She had the ingredients listed and the bake temp. So I was happy I found this recipe. I left out the regular sugar in the cake because Mom's recipe didn't call for it. Otherwise, I followed this recipe; although my oven seems to cook everything fast so it only cooked for maybe 30 minutes. (I did the toothpick test.) Pretty cake! And yummy! Just like Mom's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My favorite recipe! My mom made this all of the time when I was growing up. A real hit to take to dinners and gatherings! Everyone I know is just crazy about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
YUMMY! This cake was gone in no time, my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I've made a cake like this for years. I always add 1 box of Jello instant lemon pudding and pie filling with the cake mix. It turns out great! A good tip for the pan is to use granulated sugar instead of flour after greasing. Then you don't have the ugly flour residue on the finished cake. I use the juice of one whole lemon for the glaze. Delicious. When I have weekend visitors I make this and it just disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I grew up with my grandmother making this cake, I have made it on more than several occasions and everyone LOVES this cake; very moist and a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
for a quick and easy desert, found this to be very satisfying! i didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this as one of our desserts this Christmas. It's a great non-dairy recipe!It came out so incredibly moist & delicious! Next time I will make the glaze with more of the apricot nectar instead of the lemon juice. I loved the apricot flavor! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I made this..then added some caviar and creme fraiche...then invited the governor over to have some..his wife didn't like it so I smacked her in the face. Actually, I made this just like the recipe said, and it was yummy. I can't stand when people get on here and alter the recipes and dog the original..it's very annoying. I'm usually looking for something to make, not something to alter! Yeesh. Anywho, I love this site..lots of great recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made this cake following the recipe and it did not taste too good. Perhaps it was the brand of nectar I used - canned Goya nectar. It was very dense and had an odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States