Apricot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It seemed a waste to drain all this flavorful apricot liquid into the sink, so I added some sugar, cornstarch, and a tiny splash of almond extract, simmered it, and reduced it down into a fresh jam to serve with the muffins - a perfect complement! As for the recipe itself, I agree with another reviewer - these make closer to 18 than 12 standard muffins. I added some vanilla, substituted milk+vinegar for buttermilk, and topped them with demerara sugar before baking. I also used California apricots (the darker, larger halves, as opposed to the small whole dried Mediterranean apricots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yum! These muffins have a perfect tender crumb due to the mixture of buttermilk, oil, and butter and are a wonderful base for anything you want to add. Definitely use real buttermilk if you can-it always produces delicious results in baked goods. I found that the apricots needed to be chopped pretty small because they expanded when soaked in the hot water. A little vanilla is a good addition. Thanks for such a delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was to add a tsp of vanilla, will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These are delicious as listed. To make them a little healthier the next time I made them, I substituted applesauce for oil, added 1/2 tsp imitation vanilla extract (1/4 tsp real), and added 2 Tbsp flaxseed meal. Needed to add a little bit more butter milk so it would stir. Next time, I'm going to replace some of the flour with flaxseed meal, instead of adding. These were also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I used half white flour and half whole wheat flour and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I really like these muffins. They are light and have a wonderful buttery taste. I didn't want to tweek or add anything. I like the simple nature of them and the clean flavors. I found that they didn't the whole 15 minutes baking time, so I watched until they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I bought a large bag of apricots at Costco, then wasn't sure where to go with them - so -found this delicious recipe for muffins -- so easy and delicious. The apricots I bought were not dried at all, very moist, so I did not rehydrate them - and they were perfect. I, too will use this basic recipe for other fruits --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
These were delicious! I loved the light fluffy texture, the flavor and the moist nuggets of apricot. I even froze them and they were wonderful when thawed. I'll add this to my favorite muffin recipes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were not only gorgeous but delicious!! One thing that I noticed though was at the 400 degree temperature, I found that they were done at not 30 minutes but 23 minutes exactly. The fork came out clean and they were golden brown. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this with a friend and we LOVED them! They were gone in a matter of minutes. The muffin itself was the perfect texture, they came out a little dry but not noticeably to someone who doesn't cook often. Also the apricots kind of overpower the muffin itself, I suggest using a few less apricots if this is an issue, but they were still amazing regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gamermaiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States