Apricot Marinated Eye of Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We loved the apricot flavor. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used peach/mango preserves, sherry vinegar, and Minor's beef base. The gravy was fantastic over the sirloin tip roast and rice! This is such a great marinate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Not very impressed. The flavors are all medicre and the Eye of Round is always a tough cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEYAWPER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was relatively boring. I bought an eye of round by mistake, so it certainly served the purpose of using the cut, but I won't be running out for another eye of round to use with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was absolutely delicious - so tender it cut with a fork. I seared it on the grill and roasted it 5 hours at 275 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This is a very good and flavorful recipe that I plan on using again and again.I used my meat tenderizer to poke lots of little holes in the meat ($24.99 @ Bed, Bath & Beyond...it's a great gadget!) and I marinated it for the full 24 hours. While I still didn't consider it to be as tender as I would've liked, it's ok if you slice it thinly. The combination of flavors is different and wonderful with a pile of mashed potatoes drenched in the gravy on the side. I also had to thicken the gravy up somewhat (I used 1/3 c. flour; cornstarch would be fine too), otherwise it would've been like soup on the plate. I think this actually had a better flavor the second night I served it (we always have leftovers now that our son is off at college!); the cider vinegar had less of a "bite" to it. I cooked it to 170 degrees, which was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe that's different from all of those mushroom or onion soup ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I only made this because I accidentally bought an eye of round roast instead of a chuck roast! I was really not excited that I had bought such a lean roast, because it was sure to be tough. However, it actually turned out pretty good sliced thinly. I poked deep holes in the meat before marinating overnight. Also, I didn't have apricot preserves or pickling spice, so I used orange marmalade & put together as many of the pickling spice ingredients I could find: cinnamon, peppercorns, allspice, coriander, bay leaves, ginger, mustard seeds. . .guessed on amounts until it smelled pretty good. Used a meat thermometer & cooked to about 175 degrees. I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce because I'm doing weight watchers right now. Still was good, esp. with the marmalade. I'm sure I'll make this again, since I bought 3 total roasts! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Very flavorful roast, but be careful not to overcook it. I pureed all the marinade ingredients in the food processor prior to marinating, which made a different but tasty gravy (thickened with flour after cooking). I skipped the cream, since we are watching our weight. I will prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This came out delicious and the meat was very tender! I left it in a little longer than in the recipe, on accident, but it still came out great! The gravy was different and you have to be careful if you actually use all the liquid in your blender, but it was worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Found your recipe quite good. Served it at a dinner party with requests for me to cook it again. Had to adjust the cooking time a slight bit because the meat wasn't quite down in the alotted time but that's okay. Know that for next time. Made for a interesting and different type of gravy. Thanks. It was the easiest of the dishes I served that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States