Apricot Leather Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I have made apricot leather for years, and kids (and adults) love it. I do not add sugar, but add a banana to a blender of apricots. This gives sweetness without added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I was looking for fresh apricot recipes to use up all the fruit my tree produced. This one is the best I've found. My kids (except the one who doesn't eat things that don't come from a box) LOVED it - thought it was a fruit roll up. I lowered the sugar to 1/3 c. on the 2nd and 3rd batches because our apricots are really sweet by themselves so the first batch turned out a bit too sweet for me. My oven only goes to 170, but I just left it on and cracked open for the whole day. It took about 6.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very tasty! I didn't want to leave my oven on for hours while making several batches of leather, so I froze the apricot mixture in 2 cup pkg. so I can make the leather in the winter time whenever we want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is great as is. I feel a little dumb that I didn't think of it myself. The pilot light in my gas oven with the light on for a little extra heat makes a great dehydrator. I didn't have to turn the oven on at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This recipe was very simple to put together and tastes wonderful! The only reason it received 4 out of 5 stars was because after 8 hours in the oven, I had to put it in my dehydrator to finish up. The lowest my oven goes is 170 degrees. I started it, set the timer for 6 hours and walked away. Apparantly because my oven is one of the newer models, it turns off the heating element when the door is open. The fact that when I followed the recipe and stuck a spoon in the door to keep it open, it turned off the heating element and didn't bake the leather :( A note to all who might have a newer model oven, check the users manual to see if it turns off the heating element when the door is open. If that's the case and you dont have a dehydrator as a backup, this might not be the right recipe for you. For everyone else, this is a great recipe. My kids loved every bite and I felt good about giving them something healthy without all of the additives most "fruit snacks" contain. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tsgma
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was wonderful! Made as directed, except used a jelly roll pan, covered with saran wrap, and spread the mixture slightly thicker. I dried two batches at a time, rotating the pans every hour. It took 6.5 hours in my oven at 150 degrees. Great recipe for using up large amounts of fruit that might otherwise go bad. Thanks for sharing, Cheri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsgma

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
you can also dry it in the sun, but it is nice to have some kind of net over it so that you don't get a lot of flies or other insects in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I couldn't wait so I used a 250 degree oven for 2 hours. Used a wooden spoon to keep oven cracked to allow moisture to escape. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Turned out great! Instead of sugar, I used 1/3 cup of raw agave syrup. I didn't need to dissolve the sugar so I put it directly into the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
For those whose oven can only set to 170 degree the lowest, there is a way to trick the oven. There is a light button on the corner of your oven (mine is one the left hand side). You can see it when you open your oven door. When you use a long wooden spoon to keep the door ajar, make sure the spoon is also pushing that light button down, it will "fool" the oven to think the door is closed and the oven will keep running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States