Apricot Leather Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is great as is. I feel a little dumb that I didn't think of it myself. The pilot light in my gas oven with the light on for a little extra heat makes a great dehydrator. I didn't have to turn the oven on at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I'm not sure how to rate this recipe!! Taste wise - I would rate higher. However, my lowest setting on my oven is 170F so I had to keep turning it on briefly then off again!! Lucky I was home all day because that is how long it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tsgma
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was wonderful! Made as directed, except used a jelly roll pan, covered with saran wrap, and spread the mixture slightly thicker. I dried two batches at a time, rotating the pans every hour. It took 6.5 hours in my oven at 150 degrees. Great recipe for using up large amounts of fruit that might otherwise go bad. Thanks for sharing, Cheri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsgma

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I was looking for fresh apricot recipes to use up all the fruit my tree produced. This one is the best I've found. My kids (except the one who doesn't eat things that don't come from a box) LOVED it - thought it was a fruit roll up. I lowered the sugar to 1/3 c. on the 2nd and 3rd batches because our apricots are really sweet by themselves so the first batch turned out a bit too sweet for me. My oven only goes to 170, but I just left it on and cracked open for the whole day. It took about 6.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This recipe was very simple to put together and tastes wonderful! The only reason it received 4 out of 5 stars was because after 8 hours in the oven, I had to put it in my dehydrator to finish up. The lowest my oven goes is 170 degrees. I started it, set the timer for 6 hours and walked away. Apparantly because my oven is one of the newer models, it turns off the heating element when the door is open. The fact that when I followed the recipe and stuck a spoon in the door to keep it open, it turned off the heating element and didn't bake the leather :( A note to all who might have a newer model oven, check the users manual to see if it turns off the heating element when the door is open. If that's the case and you dont have a dehydrator as a backup, this might not be the right recipe for you. For everyone else, this is a great recipe. My kids loved every bite and I felt good about giving them something healthy without all of the additives most "fruit snacks" contain. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
you can also dry it in the sun, but it is nice to have some kind of net over it so that you don't get a lot of flies or other insects in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
It was delicious, but it took 12 hours to cook. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Ninja Master

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I have made apricot leather for years, and kids (and adults) love it. I do not add sugar, but add a banana to a blender of apricots. This gives sweetness without added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I haven't pulled this out of the oven yet but I thought the idea was so good I should comment. I did change it a but... I followed the sans-sugar, banana instead suggestion and blended everything before putting it on the stove for 5 minutes. (I have this thing against blenderizing scalding hot items...) I'm sure this will turn out wonderful! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I couldn't wait so I used a 250 degree oven for 2 hours. Used a wooden spoon to keep oven cracked to allow moisture to escape. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States