Apricot Leather Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My mother and I have made this for YEARs...we cover the trays with cheese cloth and set them out on the roof of the house...they dehydrate by the heat of the sun...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My whole family loves fruit leathers including the hubby. Depending on the fruit's sweetness I normally don't add any sweetener and if they do need a bit of sweetness I add about a teaspoon of honey at a time until it reaches my desired sweetness. I find that baking them consolidates their sugars and they come out sweeter after baking than they did when I put them in the oven. I cook mine at my oven's lowest temp which is 170 and I do not prop the door open and they always come out great. I use silicone mats vs the plastic wrap and they peel off beautifully. I also triple the recipe so I can get the most bang for having my oven on for that long, just recommend rotating the pans every couple hours for even cooking. Enjoy these great treats that you don't have to feel guilty feeding your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is one of those "why didn't I do this sooner?" recipes. I love fruit roll ups but really hate the amount of sugar that goes into them - never mind the artificial stuff that a lot of them seem to have. I would suggest using parchment paper sprayed with vegetable oil instead of plastic wrap, especially if your oven only goes down to 170 like mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I have 2 huge apricot trees so I prepare gallons of apricot puree. I set up my 10 person tent and I have lots of plastic shelving and I lay plastic grocery bags out on the shelves as flat as I can get them and pour the puree onto the bags. Then I have 30-50 sheets of fruit leather in 2-3 days depending on humidity and heat. Also you don't have to worry about bugs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Please note! it should say 150F and 65C not 165C! Love the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This seemed like a great recipe, but after several batches/days I could never get the middle to dry out or the plastic to not melt. If I turned up the heat as others did then the plastic wrap would melt into my pan. Sigh. I really wanted this to work - but I think I just need a dehydrator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
So super easy and kids loved it...It did take longer for mine to set up and cook but I left it overnight and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
For those whose oven can only set to 170 degree the lowest, there is a way to trick the oven. There is a light button on the corner of your oven (mine is one the left hand side). You can see it when you open your oven door. When you use a long wooden spoon to keep the door ajar, make sure the spoon is also pushing that light button down, it will "fool" the oven to think the door is closed and the oven will keep running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is a delicious snack alternative when you have a sweet tooth. I tried using up some of my canned fruit the first time I made it. That wasn't the best idea-too much liquid in it-and it took forever for the fruit to dehydrate. The finished product however, was delicious. I am off to make this again, and will be trying it in the future with all different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Turned out great! Instead of sugar, I used 1/3 cup of raw agave syrup. I didn't need to dissolve the sugar so I put it directly into the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States