Apricot Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe was a lot of fun. Tons of butter though (but that's just how I like things). I did not have an issue with the dough being too sticky to work with, I felt that this was the perfect recipe. However, due to the incompetence of the keeper of my parents' kitchen, I substituted the apricots with dried cherries, and I have to say, it was amazing. I plan to make this again and I will more than likely be just as pleased with the apricot filling as I am with the Cherry. Thanks for posting this! It has become a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wonderful and easy, I think the cream cheam pastry is luscious as well as much easier and less time consuming than a yeast dough. The hint of cream cheese also provides the perfect complement to the warm richness of apricot filling. I added a just a hint of lemon zest to the pastry to accentuate the flavor and it all won rave reviews. Best of all, the ingredients are all things you can readily have on hand for any time you feel like making a fruit-based breakfast treat or dessert but don't have any fresh fruit handy. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NervieCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great recipe! I added 1/4 cup extra flour to dough, due to previous review that it was too sticky to work with and my dough came out fine. I divided my dough into 3 parts and rolled out each part, spread filling and cut into triangles like a pizza. Each wedge was then rolled up like croissants. To the apricot filling I added and extra tbsp. sugar. My kids and family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
These turned out well. I chilled my dough a little longer than an hour because it still seemed a little too soft when I checked it. The cookie part has a sweet biscuit type flavor. I will definately try these with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I used regular pie filling (blueberry, cherry, apple, peach) and they were just awesome. Also, I made circles in the dough and folded it over and used a fork to stick the edges together. It worked really nicely. Great, fantastic recipe!!!! Our whole family wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
My family and I love this recipe. It's a lot quicker than the other kolache recipies with yeast, but it tastes nearly identical. This would be a great finger food to serve on a buffet or even as a dessert at a formal dinner. 2 things: 400 on my oven was a little hot. I turned it down to about 390 or so (just barely before the 400 mark), and they worked beautifully. Expect the finished product to have areas of dark and like, sort of like macaroons (sp?). Secondly, make sure the dough is REALLY cold. I eventually put mine in the freezer. Otherwise, you'll have it sticking to your rolling pin constantly. Try other dried fruits. Plum immediently comes to mind, but other fruits would work too. Be aware that if you use jelly (ONLY use "all-fruit" jelly if you're going to do this) it WILL run out of your kolache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Exactly like Mom used to make! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My family has been making these for years! I wait every christmas to eat these but we make a cream cheese filling for the top they are the BEST!!!! Our recipe is just a tad different though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made these yesterday evening. I followed the recipe and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These are very close to how my Grandma made them. Only we called them envelopes. Her's seemed smaller though. She only folded over two sides, which made them look like little envelopes (opposite corners). But the bottoms got a little to brown for me. Perhaps I baked too long. She used to use nut filling, cheese filling and prune filling also. Then she dredged in powdered sugar. Ahh...a little taste of childhood memories. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States