Apricot Glazed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this recipe this week, with one change: the recipe I had called for only 1/4 cup of chicken broth. It was delicious, and the sauce wasn't too thin. The leftovers made great barbecue sandwiches, too. I appreciated how easy it was, and that it used ingredients I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We really liked this dish! I did a couple of changes though after reading others posts. I seasoned my pork with onion salt, pepper, salt, garlic powder and salt..then browned it on both sides with olive oil. I did 8 oz chicken broth in lieu of 10.5 of condensed chicken broth... and I sliced my oions instead of chopped. I also drizzled honey lightly over the pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a good idea, but for my family's tastes, it was a bit lacking. Most meat dishes with fruit-based sauces or glazes need a good bit of "savory" to offset the sweetness. On the second try of this recipe I tweaked it, and my family went CRAZY for it: 2.5 lb pork roast, 1/2 jar apricot preserves, 1 rounded TBL of dry onion soup mix, NO added liquid. Seasoned the roast with garlic, seasoned salt, black pepper, and quickly seared in a saute pan; deglazed the pan with a MINIMAL amount of water, added to sauce mixture. Place roast in crock, cover with sauce, cook on low for 4.5 hours. WOW!!! The liquid from the meat brings the sauce to almost the right consistency, but I did need to add about a TBL of corn starch and simmer on high for a few minutes to thicken. Served with home-made dinner rolls, mashed potatoes, steamed green beans. Like I said, as written, my family (all male, all carnivores) thought it was ho-hum, but with tweaking it was "Man, Mom! This is awesome!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
For an extra tang, I add a few fresh cranberries and it is wonderful. I also add potatoes, mushrooms and carrots for a complete dinner. This received rave reviews from family and friends. I have made it four times and again this weekend while skiing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe was so good everyone, even my 4 & 6 yr olds asked for seconds! I made a few changes that were suggested in other reviews to give it a little more flavor. I seasoned it with Montreal steak seasoning & salt, then browned it in olive oil before putting it in the crockpot. I also sliced the onions instead of chopping them, used 8oz of chicken broth instead of the condensed, and drizzled it with honey!! Will definantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
It was DELICIOUS! My husband cooked our pork roast in the crock pot and added lots of veggies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I thought the meal was great! The pork pulled apart and had a nice flavor. Not as strong as I thought it would be. I used 2 lbs pork, a full can of preserves, and half the can of broth. Good consistency in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight for my roommate and I for dinner and is was great. We both had seconds. Added some garlic gloves to the roast. Which is something we don't usually do so that we have room for dessert. We were so full we skipped dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was just OK for me. I wasn't sure what condensed chicken broth was, so I just used about a cup of chicken stock. I added potatoes and carrots to the crock pot as well. It was all just a little too bittersweet tasting to me. Could've used something to cut the sweetness a little, but I'm not sure what. The apricot preserves give it a tangy taste that was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wonderfully yummy! I used 2 tsp of mustard powder instead. So fast and so simple. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States