Apricot Glazed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I did a dry rub on the pork first with mustard powder, salt & pepper, a little onion powder, and a little garlic powder. I then browned it with olive oil in a pan and rubbed a little dijon mustard on it before placing it in the crock pot. Instead of just chicken broth, I mixed in a little bit of beer too (for around 1/2 cup liquid total). And, like others, I sliced the onions instead of chopping them. The pork practically fell apart! It was delicious! My husband wouldn't stop raving about the sauce and we had a lot left over! Next time I'd probably use 2 onions, since they disappeared all too quickly. But I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. Followed the suggestions of others and rubbed salt, pepper, garlic powder and some crushed rosemary into the roast. Poured the glaze (no broth) over the roast and then added the sliced onion with a half cup of water drizzled around the edges of the roast; covered and cooked on high in the slow cooker for just over 5 hours. Didn't have any chicken broth, but my experience with slow-cooked roasts is that you don't need a lot of liquid - the meat has enough juices of its own. It came out with about 4 cups of liquid at the end which made a good gravy with some more seasonings and cornstarch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I added in a can of cream of mushroom to thicken the sauce up at the end with a tablespoon of cornstarch. It did thicken up and had a great taste. Next time I will season the roast before I put it in the crock pot - salt and pepper rubbed into the skin to add more flavor there. I made it with smashed red potatoes and my husband, three year old and I really liked it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe was so good everyone, even my 4 & 6 yr olds asked for seconds! I made a few changes that were suggested in other reviews to give it a little more flavor. I seasoned it with Montreal steak seasoning & salt, then browned it in olive oil before putting it in the crockpot. I also sliced the onions instead of chopping them, used 8oz of chicken broth instead of the condensed, and drizzled it with honey!! Will definantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I was very disappointed in this. I thought with all of these stars it would be really tasty- but it was actually quite bland and I'm sure there would always be a better option. The sauce was orangish brown with little chunks of onion floating in it- very unappetizing looking. I suggest trying something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wonderfully yummy! I used 2 tsp of mustard powder instead. So fast and so simple. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The leftovers were even better! I used mustard powder instead of Dijon and a pork tenderloin. The meat was falling apart after 4 hours on high in crock pot. Delicious for whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
AWESOME!!! I have never liked Pork my entire life, but I LOVED this! OMG, i couldn't quit eating it! It came out so tender after 3 hours on High (I had a 2 pound pork roast). The only changes I made: 1/2 can of Broth, omitted the mustard (didn't have any), added Baby Carrots to the mix, and also added various spices: Onion Powder, Salt, Pepper, Dill Seed, Parsley, and Oregano. This is a great Sunday afternoon recipe. thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
It was DELICIOUS! My husband cooked our pork roast in the crock pot and added lots of veggies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was just OK for me. I wasn't sure what condensed chicken broth was, so I just used about a cup of chicken stock. I added potatoes and carrots to the crock pot as well. It was all just a little too bittersweet tasting to me. Could've used something to cut the sweetness a little, but I'm not sure what. The apricot preserves give it a tangy taste that was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States