Apricot Glazed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Pretty good, I just used the recipe to cook it like a normal dinner. Good flavors, next time I will plan to make this as intended in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I have a variation of this recipe which I found in a slow cooker cookbook, except that it calls for just a 1/4 cup of chicken broth, which I usually make from chicken bouillon that I have on hand. The roast turns out tender and flavorful and it's a breeze to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Very good!! The family loves the glaze instead of just plain ol' roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I was amazed at how delicious this recipe came out of the slow cooker and so was my husband who couldn't get enough of it. I, too, had to stop myself from overeatting. We are looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow night. I would definitely recommend everyone to try this Apricot Glazed Pork Roast in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a good idea, but for my family's tastes, it was a bit lacking. Most meat dishes with fruit-based sauces or glazes need a good bit of "savory" to offset the sweetness. On the second try of this recipe I tweaked it, and my family went CRAZY for it: 2.5 lb pork roast, 1/2 jar apricot preserves, 1 rounded TBL of dry onion soup mix, NO added liquid. Seasoned the roast with garlic, seasoned salt, black pepper, and quickly seared in a saute pan; deglazed the pan with a MINIMAL amount of water, added to sauce mixture. Place roast in crock, cover with sauce, cook on low for 4.5 hours. WOW!!! The liquid from the meat brings the sauce to almost the right consistency, but I did need to add about a TBL of corn starch and simmer on high for a few minutes to thicken. Served with home-made dinner rolls, mashed potatoes, steamed green beans. Like I said, as written, my family (all male, all carnivores) thought it was ho-hum, but with tweaking it was "Man, Mom! This is awesome!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
my family loved this! A nice change. I did cut back on the chicken broth to about 1/2 cup and found the consistency to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
One of my GoTo recipes that I have made for years, even for company. I always brine the loin over night (2 quarts of apple juice, 1/2 cup kosher salt, 1/2 cup sugar) – I think this is very important if you want a juicy pork roast regardless of how it is cooked. Also, throw a bag of baby carrots into the slow cooker, they are fantastic! I tried to duplicate the carrots in the slow cooker without the pork and they were just not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I put a dry rub on meat overnight. Super easy to do while your at work. I did use sugar free preserves and added some carrots and onion and turned out perfect. I was afraid the pork loin would burn with out putting a 1/4c chicken stock, but next time I won't add it. I had to use corn starch at the end and boil to get it thick, but other than that pork was super tender! Served with mashed potatoes. Will make again. Easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuhebmtg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I did a dry rub on the pork first with mustard powder, salt & pepper, a little onion powder, and a little garlic powder. I then browned it with olive oil in a pan and rubbed a little dijon mustard on it before placing it in the crock pot. Instead of just chicken broth, I mixed in a little bit of beer too (for around 1/2 cup liquid total). And, like others, I sliced the onions instead of chopping them. The pork practically fell apart! It was delicious! My husband wouldn't stop raving about the sauce and we had a lot left over! Next time I'd probably use 2 onions, since they disappeared all too quickly. But I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. Followed the suggestions of others and rubbed salt, pepper, garlic powder and some crushed rosemary into the roast. Poured the glaze (no broth) over the roast and then added the sliced onion with a half cup of water drizzled around the edges of the roast; covered and cooked on high in the slow cooker for just over 5 hours. Didn't have any chicken broth, but my experience with slow-cooked roasts is that you don't need a lot of liquid - the meat has enough juices of its own. It came out with about 4 cups of liquid at the end which made a good gravy with some more seasonings and cornstarch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States