Apricot Ginger Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Marinated them overnight and they were still bland. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The only change I made on this recipe was I doubled the amount of preserves; then I doubled the recipe. I used four hens cut in half for eight servings. They were amazing! Not only was the taste great, but they came out of the oven picture perfect. They were moist, and had a great color. I made this at Christmas because everyone is tired of turkey and ham from Thanksgiving. Everyone loved them. This will become a holiday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made it, only substituting light soy sauce for less sodium, and it was very good. We had them along with a small pineapple glazed ham for our Thanksgiving meal. Both complimented each other well! Frequently the beginning stages of marinades or glazes don't taste the same as they do after cooking in an oven for an hour or so. Don't get too hasty about changing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicous. Circumstances prevailing, my hens came butcher marinated in fresh lemon, olive oil, and garlic. I made sauce with home available items, ginger syrup with grated ginger, apricot preserves, champagne Vinegar, soy, no wine used orange liquor. Did not care for the soy so added more ingredient To cover. Cooked jasmine rice in same sauce pan as residual marinade was made in. Great. Can,t wait to try a fruit stuffed pork roast. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannutalk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
VERY GOOD, THE SAUCE IS SO YUMMY. WILL MAKE AGIAN..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This smells wonderful the changes I made is this I added Rosemary just a bit pat of butter. Instead of wine I used apricot nectar juice and instead of white sugar I used brown sugar everything else the same. I will report how this comes out tonight but really excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was okay. Not a lot of ginger or apricot flavor, which was disappointing. I marinated it overnight, and basted it conscientiously, but still it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSEMC91
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I tasted the marinade before putting it on my hens. Too much soy! So this is what I did! Let me back up first. I bought Apricot preserves just to make this dish but when it came time to make it I couldn't find it. So I went to our local store and all they had was peach and pineapple. So I bought both! Glad I did because I used all of both. I mixed them and put a cup and a half in the marinade. Adding about a 2x2 grated piece of ginger. Then after they were put in the oven I took the rest of the perserves and put it in a pot on low heat I added about 1/2 a tsp. of ginger about a 1/2 tsp. of cheyenne pepper and about the same of sesame oil. WOW!!! Taste it first and then tweek it! When the birds were all but 20 minutes done then I spooned the mixture over them and finished the cooking. Don't baste anymore after putting it on. My family and my company really loved it! Almost forgot... I doubled this recipe so that is why there is so much preserves in it! I made with this a gourmet mushroom risotto found on allrecipes. Submitted by MYLEEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
i used twice the amount of apricot reserve (jam actually) just a little less soy sauce, and dried ginger spice ( 10 mls). I didn't have the white wine, but this still came out tasting awesome and was extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipe at first, but I served it as the main course for Christmas dinner and it was a hit. The only thing I would to differently the next time I make this is use a rack to raise the meat out of the marinade while cooking. The very top was nicely browned, but the portions left in the juice had no color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States