Apricot Cream Cheese Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Do not skimp on the chilling step, the dough will be very difficult to work with if it isn't cold enough. My finger was sticking every time I made an indentation. I varied the flavor of the dough by skipping the lemon zest and adding vanilla and almond extracts and using cherry filling. Really yummy, buttery but more tender than spritz. Sadly, not as good a texture after storage overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These turned out terribly. Don't waste your ingredients and most of all don't waste your time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Watch baking time as these cookies will scoch quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
These were okay, but not what I really wanted. They are ALMOST a shortbread cookie, but not quite anything else either! Nice texture, but you need filling for sure! We tried several diff preserves, and the best was orange marmalade - it added a nice tart balance to the cookie. I dusted them with the confectioners sugar - it helps them to not all stick together in the jar! Would I make them again? I really doubt it - the results are not worth the ingredients it takes. But they do look nice on a tray! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I added this recipe to my 'Recipe Box' in December 2007 and have made them every Christmas since! They are a must have Christmas cookie in our home. The flavors are subtle, the cookies stay soft and moist and they are just so pretty. We do lots of different jams: strawberry, apricot, raspberry, black cherry, blueberry, anything really! My husband is a vegan so I've been making this vegan all these years with soy cream cheese & Earth Balance margarine and they come out perfect every time. The only real changes I've made to the recipe over the years is to add extra lemon zest and about a TBSP of vanilla. The sprinkle of confectioner's sugar after they cool is a must, it really makes them so pretty. Thanks for such a perfect cookies recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bixer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is excellent! I made these twice. The first time I used the orginal recipe, the second time I adapted it. I omitted the Lemon and Lemon zest, and substituted Vanilla and added a tsp. of Butter extract. They came out delicious! I also did some with apricot filling and some with Rasberry filling. A tip to make the centers all uniform. I used my round metal 1/4 tsp measuring spoon, dipping it in flour after each time. They came out all uniform. This recipe will be a definite favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These came out just great for me! I had no real butter so I used margarine in its place but it had no ill effects. I used peach jam as I had some on hand and they came out perfect. I did check them after 13 minutes and did not let them go to 15 as the bottoms would have burnt. I am going to try using blueberry pie filling in them and see how that works too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was a very good cookie. I will def. make them again, but with another flavor of jam. The cookie itself was nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love this recipe! I find it just sweet enough without being overly sweet. I made it with almond extract and cherry preserves which made for a very lovely holiday cookie. This is definitely going to be part of my holiday cookie rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Wow, these are GREAT!! I wasn't too sure about the apricot filling, but they are a perfect compliment to the cream cheese and slightly tangy lemon. I did some with apricot preserves and some with raspberry jam, and both were delicious. These are light cookies that just melt in your mouth. It is hard to stop with just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States