Apricot Cream Cheese Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Something different for the gourmet- try red pepper jelly in the center. They were served at a high-end restaurant and were so delicious. Red pepper jelly is a product from Florida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I used peach, raspberry and plum preserves and they turned out beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These were really good for thumbprints. The lemon this recipe calls for is perfect! I still found them a little plain so I drizzled a glaze of confectioners sugar, milk, and rum extract over the tops. I used all different types of preserves for these. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Do not skimp on the chilling step, the dough will be very difficult to work with if it isn't cold enough. My finger was sticking every time I made an indentation. I varied the flavor of the dough by skipping the lemon zest and adding vanilla and almond extracts and using cherry filling. Really yummy, buttery but more tender than spritz. Sadly, not as good a texture after storage overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These turned out terribly. Don't waste your ingredients and most of all don't waste your time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Watch baking time as these cookies will scoch quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
These were okay, but not what I really wanted. They are ALMOST a shortbread cookie, but not quite anything else either! Nice texture, but you need filling for sure! We tried several diff preserves, and the best was orange marmalade - it added a nice tart balance to the cookie. I dusted them with the confectioners sugar - it helps them to not all stick together in the jar! Would I make them again? I really doubt it - the results are not worth the ingredients it takes. But they do look nice on a tray! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I added this recipe to my 'Recipe Box' in December 2007 and have made them every Christmas since! They are a must have Christmas cookie in our home. The flavors are subtle, the cookies stay soft and moist and they are just so pretty. We do lots of different jams: strawberry, apricot, raspberry, black cherry, blueberry, anything really! My husband is a vegan so I've been making this vegan all these years with soy cream cheese & Earth Balance margarine and they come out perfect every time. The only real changes I've made to the recipe over the years is to add extra lemon zest and about a TBSP of vanilla. The sprinkle of confectioner's sugar after they cool is a must, it really makes them so pretty. Thanks for such a perfect cookies recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bixer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is excellent! I made these twice. The first time I used the orginal recipe, the second time I adapted it. I omitted the Lemon and Lemon zest, and substituted Vanilla and added a tsp. of Butter extract. They came out delicious! I also did some with apricot filling and some with Rasberry filling. A tip to make the centers all uniform. I used my round metal 1/4 tsp measuring spoon, dipping it in flour after each time. They came out all uniform. This recipe will be a definite favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These came out just great for me! I had no real butter so I used margarine in its place but it had no ill effects. I used peach jam as I had some on hand and they came out perfect. I did check them after 13 minutes and did not let them go to 15 as the bottoms would have burnt. I am going to try using blueberry pie filling in them and see how that works too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States