Apricot Cream Cheese Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made these for the holidays and they were a huge hit! I used strawberry, as well as apricot; it was a great flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made these for Christmas and they were fabulous. My husband and teenage sons loved them. The best cookies we had this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by likes2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These are pretty good. I do like the flavor of them and I LOVE thumbprint cookies, but they do take a lot of effort and time. For that reason I don't make them that often, which is probably good for my health. ;o) I like the Almond and Raspberry Thumbprints on here a bit better but it's a good way to use up some cream cheese, and the apricot preserves are awesome. Apricot is one of my favorite fruit! I made the dough a few days ago then made them today. I rolled the dough into balls first, placing them on a pan so I would have them ready every time I pulled a batch out of the oven. Although sometimes I use a teaspoon to make the print, I used my thumb today. Be careful not to overfill your thumbprints or they will overflow and make a big mess. I put my preserves into a ziploc bag, then cut an opening in the corner so I can pipe it into the print. It's much less messy that way! 15 minutes were perfect for mine. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Though I did not use apricot jam, these were the best cookies I have had in a long time. I used Strawberry jam instead. I usually make cookies for the family, and do not eat them myself. This time, I ate them all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I had really high hopes for these, but they didn't come out well as I had hoped. I made them for the holidays and followed the recipe exactly as stated. They ended up kind of too heavy and doughy, not crisp on the bottoms. I guess the best way to describe then was that they were just too soft. I'd also probably make smaller balls...a tablespoon per cookie seemed like too much. Many guests said they liked them, although there were a lot left over, which tells me something! The fresh lemon juice and peel was a nice addition, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
these were okay, dry, and not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I am giving this a 5 star rating based upon reactions from other people. I wasn't really a fan of these cookies but when I gave them out for Christmas everyone loved them. I had to print the recipe out for a few of them! I didn't have Apricot Jam so I used Cherry Preserves and substituted vanilla for the lemon juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I was disappointed in this recipe after reading all of the good reviews. I made the cookies as directed-no changes- and found them to be fairly bland. Not sure what the big deal was on the reviews. The raw dough was the best part about these. Won't be making these again. On another note, using the sandwich bag to fill them worked great, and I will be using that method on a different thumbprint recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are amazingly bland and boring, a waste of resources, don't bother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
First of all, I don't cook much, and this recipe was easy enough for me to handle. Secondly, I made a few small changes, based on ideas of my own and other reviews, and I think they came out great! As someone else mentioned, I used 2 packages of cream cheese. I also used 2 sticks of salted and 1 stick of unsalted butter. Rather than white flour, I used whole wheat, and I also added about a teaspoon of nutmeg to the dough. Rather than any kind of preserves for filling, I used a very simple cranberry jelly recipe (1 bag cranberries + 12 oz. water + 1/3 cup brown sugar -- boil water and sugar until dissolved, add cranberries and stir until all are burst and the skins come off). The end result is subtle and hearty (thanks, mainly, to the whole wheat flour). The mildly-sweet cookies offset the tartness of the cranberry nicely. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States