Apricot Cream Cheese Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I am giving this a 5 star rating based upon reactions from other people. I wasn't really a fan of these cookies but when I gave them out for Christmas everyone loved them. I had to print the recipe out for a few of them! I didn't have Apricot Jam so I used Cherry Preserves and substituted vanilla for the lemon juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I was disappointed in this recipe after reading all of the good reviews. I made the cookies as directed-no changes- and found them to be fairly bland. Not sure what the big deal was on the reviews. The raw dough was the best part about these. Won't be making these again. On another note, using the sandwich bag to fill them worked great, and I will be using that method on a different thumbprint recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are amazingly bland and boring, a waste of resources, don't bother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
First of all, I don't cook much, and this recipe was easy enough for me to handle. Secondly, I made a few small changes, based on ideas of my own and other reviews, and I think they came out great! As someone else mentioned, I used 2 packages of cream cheese. I also used 2 sticks of salted and 1 stick of unsalted butter. Rather than white flour, I used whole wheat, and I also added about a teaspoon of nutmeg to the dough. Rather than any kind of preserves for filling, I used a very simple cranberry jelly recipe (1 bag cranberries + 12 oz. water + 1/3 cup brown sugar -- boil water and sugar until dissolved, add cranberries and stir until all are burst and the skins come off). The end result is subtle and hearty (thanks, mainly, to the whole wheat flour). The mildly-sweet cookies offset the tartness of the cranberry nicely. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I don't like sugar cookies so I decided to try these. They are wonderful. My hubby who doesn't have a sweet tooth ate 15 for breakfast. Made during Christmas these look wonderful on a tray. Make with several different kind of preserves for a festive look and taste. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cross City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
THESE ARE THE BEST THINGS EVER, THE LEMON REALLY MADE THEM AND I USED RASPBERRY, BLACKBERRY AND GUAVA PRESERVES MY FAVORITES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
It was a good recipe but a little to fussy to make for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Love the fluffy texture of this cookie! It is also very tasty and melts in your mouth. I like that it is not very sweet, however, I do plan on adding a small amount more of sugar on the next batch. Not a lot more... just a little. Agree that cold dough makes for the nicest texture for handling and also for the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Instead of just using apricot preserves, I mix them up...sometimes using strawberry or blackberry. The strawberry ones diappear like crazy! This year I am trying peach! Soooo simple to make and they look GREAT on holiday trays! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
this was the first time i made this recipe and got 7 1/2 dozen cookies, using a level T. per cookie dough...next time, i won't chill the dough too long, as it made it too hard to form cookies...i like to bake on parchment paper, as you don't have to grease the pan and the cookies come off easily and no clean-up....will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States