Apricot Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
used 1/2 cup and 1/4 cup of sugar and buttermilk in place of the milk powder and water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I also increased the sugar in this recipe, added an extra cup of apricots mixed throughout the batter. Used milk instead of milk powder and water and topped with apricot juice mixed with sugar to make the glaze after baking is finished. will definitely be making this again soon. We have so many apricots this year I am trying every recipe I come across, and thank heavens for freezers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbi Bianchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I read several of the reviews for this recipe, and increased the sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup, used 3 tbsp. of butter, and regular milk instead of powdered. I also spread half the batter in the pan, then topped the half with a mixture of cinnamon sugar, added the other half of the batter and proceeded with the directions for the topping. Baking took exactly 45 minutes, and when the cake had cooled slightly, I added a powdered sugar and milk icing. Tangy and sweet, this coffee cake really wakes up your taste buds! I will definitely make this again. Fresh apricots are difficult to find here, but I am sure that well-drained, canned apricots could be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Delicious!!! I also added 1/2 cup more of sugar as others suggested. I also added an extra cup of apricots, spreading all of the apricots on the bottom of an 8 x 11 pan, poured the batter and topped the batter with chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Absolutely incredible, economical, EASY recipe. I did as suggested by other reviews and increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also used whipping cream instead of powdered milk and water, and increased the vanilla 3 fold...which gave the cake a great flavor. I was so impressed with the ease of making this, and how few ingredients and items on hand are in pantry. My husband and I ate the whole thing. I also used a rectagular glass pan which worked well. I baked mine for 40 minutes. I also had one small peach which I added to the apricots, added 3 times the sugar with cinnamon, and it was so good. DEFINITELY a coffee cake for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Love it! Turned out great and was easy. Used milk & more sugar. Everyone wanted more. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I followed Margalo's suggestions about the sugar and milk and this was excellent. It is nice and cakey with a good tart topping. I think I will try it with apples next time to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RILKEANHEARTS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Loved this. Made the same milk/sugar changes as others. I served it warm with whip cream on top. next I am going to try making one with canned peaches and one with cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a good recipie to use up fresh apricots. It is a tart cake that goes well with ice cream or sweetened whppedcream. I also used milk not milk powder + water. Next time I will use a 9 inch pan, as my cake overflowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Good--everyone in the office gobbled it up and there was nothing left at the end of the day. I did change it up: used a bundt pan and put the apricots between two layers of batter instead of on top. I also upped the sugar to 1/2 cup and added apricots to the batter itself. I added a vanilla glaze after baking, which helped counteract some of the tartness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States