Apricot Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This cake was not to my liking. The cake part tasted more like bread. Apricots turned very sour during the baking process. They were sweeter than that when raw. I would not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
We found this recipe to be very good with the following modifications: sugar was increased in the batter to 1/2 cup and in the topping to 2 tablespoons. I used milk instead of the milk powder plus water. I baked it quite a bit longer than called for, probably because the apricots were very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I followed Margalo's suggestions about the sugar and milk and this was excellent. It is nice and cakey with a good tart topping. I think I will try it with apples next time to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RILKEANHEARTS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Tastes good. I used finely chopped dried apricots, as fresh, they are hard to come by where I live. I used regular milk, instead of the powdered milk plus water. I put cinnamon and sugar in between the mix as I put it in the pan, just to make it pretty. Maybe next time I will put some chopped nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Ok- made the changes everyone suggested (more sugar and used liquid milk) but needed even more sugar to combat the tartness of the apricots. Read somewhere that apricots do not improve in taste once picked so even though mine looked ripe they did not taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Loved this. Made the same milk/sugar changes as others. I served it warm with whip cream on top. next I am going to try making one with canned peaches and one with cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I read several of the reviews for this recipe, and increased the sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup, used 3 tbsp. of butter, and regular milk instead of powdered. I also spread half the batter in the pan, then topped the half with a mixture of cinnamon sugar, added the other half of the batter and proceeded with the directions for the topping. Baking took exactly 45 minutes, and when the cake had cooled slightly, I added a powdered sugar and milk icing. Tangy and sweet, this coffee cake really wakes up your taste buds! I will definitely make this again. Fresh apricots are difficult to find here, but I am sure that well-drained, canned apricots could be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Absolutely incredible, economical, EASY recipe. I did as suggested by other reviews and increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also used whipping cream instead of powdered milk and water, and increased the vanilla 3 fold...which gave the cake a great flavor. I was so impressed with the ease of making this, and how few ingredients and items on hand are in pantry. My husband and I ate the whole thing. I also used a rectagular glass pan which worked well. I baked mine for 40 minutes. I also had one small peach which I added to the apricots, added 3 times the sugar with cinnamon, and it was so good. DEFINITELY a coffee cake for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was a bit on the dry side. Although I made it according to the original recipe, except subbing real milk for powdered milk, I'd probably recommend for most people to up the sugar (as suggested by many) and be ready for something not moist and like real coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Good--everyone in the office gobbled it up and there was nothing left at the end of the day. I did change it up: used a bundt pan and put the apricots between two layers of batter instead of on top. I also upped the sugar to 1/2 cup and added apricots to the batter itself. I added a vanilla glaze after baking, which helped counteract some of the tartness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States