Apricot Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is great! My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I love this. I used boneless chops so I had to cut down on the cooking time. The sauce is great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I use to cook a recipe very similar to this in Australia when I lived there, but used chicken breast and Apricot Sauce or tinned Apricots instead of apricot jam. With the onion soup it gives it a sweet and sour flavour. ~ Going to try it tonight for tea Many thanks for reminding me of it. It's juicy. (Can anyone please tell me what Catalina Salad dressing is? never seen in here in the UK)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bingley, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I've also made this with chicken and it turns out great. Love the sweet/sour taste. Catalina dressing is a version of french dressing you put on a lettuce salad. I've also used Russian dressing. These are tomato (ketchup) based (orange/red in color)...I think the catalina has a little more of a "bite" to it than the french. I found a recipe for catalina dressing so you have some idea what the ingredients are or perhaps if you cannot find it to purchase, you can make some. Catalina Dressing: 1 cup sugar, 2 teasoon salt, dash paprika, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon celery seed, 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard, grated onion to taste, 1/2 cup white vinegar, 2/3 cup ketchup, 1 cup vegetable oil. Put all ingredients into a blender and mix. Store in a jar in refrigerator. I wish this site had a message board area where we could ask questions about ingredients or a process in a recipe we don't understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Wonderful! The sauce can accomodate up to 6 pork chops nicely. We love this recipe. Such a nice change from the usual pork chop dish. We love this over a bed of white rice. If you can't find Catalina dressing, use Russian, it is close, just not quite as spicy. I also seem to have trouble finding Apricot Jam so I substitute preserves and it works just fine. I season the pork chops in salt, pepper and garlic powder prior to browning. You can add a splash of soy sauce to this if you want to. This has a nice sweet and sour taste to it, my mouth is watering just writing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Excellent...will be making this for visiting family this weekend...didn't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I have 5 kids and not one of them complained!!! That is almost never heard of. Thanks so much, Shelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I happen to have a Honey Catalina in the fridge and it was great! We also put these on the grill and it was just as good. Gonna try with Chicken and rice next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Delicious!! I used low fat catalina to cut back on sweetness a little and couldn't find Apricot Jam so used Polanor All fruit. My husband loved it. Spooned the sauce over rice, Yummm. Will definately put in my favorite recipe box>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Very tasty and easy to cook. I will make this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States