Apricot Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I've also made this with chicken and it turns out great. Love the sweet/sour taste. Catalina dressing is a version of french dressing you put on a lettuce salad. I've also used Russian dressing. These are tomato (ketchup) based (orange/red in color)...I think the catalina has a little more of a "bite" to it than the french. I found a recipe for catalina dressing so you have some idea what the ingredients are or perhaps if you cannot find it to purchase, you can make some. Catalina Dressing: 1 cup sugar, 2 teasoon salt, dash paprika, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon celery seed, 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard, grated onion to taste, 1/2 cup white vinegar, 2/3 cup ketchup, 1 cup vegetable oil. Put all ingredients into a blender and mix. Store in a jar in refrigerator. I wish this site had a message board area where we could ask questions about ingredients or a process in a recipe we don't understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
These were delicious. My only comment is that the sauce mixture made an awful lot. I would probably half all the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Wonderful! The sauce can accomodate up to 6 pork chops nicely. We love this recipe. Such a nice change from the usual pork chop dish. We love this over a bed of white rice. If you can't find Catalina dressing, use Russian, it is close, just not quite as spicy. I also seem to have trouble finding Apricot Jam so I substitute preserves and it works just fine. I season the pork chops in salt, pepper and garlic powder prior to browning. You can add a splash of soy sauce to this if you want to. This has a nice sweet and sour taste to it, my mouth is watering just writing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Great everyday pork chop recipe! Very quick & easy - Tangy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was wonderful. I took others advice and lowered the temp down to 350. I also used boneless pork chops. YUMMY!! I am going to make this again and again! So tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
You can alter this recipe by using a boneless pork roast instead of chops and the flavor is still wonderful. Also, try using french dressing or fat free dressing, you will also get tasty results. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this exactly according to the recipe, except that I followed the advice of others and reduced the temperature to 350 and cooked for about half an hour. If your chops are less than a full inch thick, be sure to check them early; mine were probably closer to 3/4" thick, and I felt they were a tad bit overdone, even with the reduced temp/time. I couldn't find apricot jam and had to make do with preserves, but I don't really think that makes much difference. While the taste was a little more fiery than we usually care for, we did eat it all up in one night, and I will probably make it again. I think the Catalina dressing AND pepper together were what made it a little on the too-spicy side for us; next time I'll skip the pepper and see if it makes a difference. I may also use more apricot to make it a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was one of the best pork chop reicipes I've ever made and very easy. It was very flavorful and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
My husband made these one night and they were really good. He used boneless pork chops instead of bone-in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
My husband and I cooked this together, last night. We thought it was easy to prepare and was very tasty! We will be making this again except my husband would like to try adding some real onions into the mix. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States