Apricot Chicken with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this dish for my husband who is very picky--- he loves complex flavors. This dish was very easy to make. I did two things differently-- I added more fresh apricots, all sliced in halves. In order to cut down on the sweetness I used only a very large dollop of preserves as opposed to a full cup and I added 5 cloves, the cloves chopped in large pieces. I also let the liquid reduce to an almost glaze-like finish. Was fab! Over rice pilaf, served w/ French cut green beans and this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy E. Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Hubby thought this was pretty good, even went back for thirds. I did use peaches instead of apricots because that is what I had on hand. Next time I will try it with the apricots, I'm sure that will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
family loved this of course I tweaked it a little based off other reviews and my families taste but it was a hit and easy to make this will be a repeat in our book! Love the mustard adding during the chicken browning and we added red pepper flakes to give it kick and have even left out the chunks of fruit all together an just use the preserves especially if you use apricot and pineapple preserves its sweet enough and spicey with the red pepper flakes and dont forget to add extra balsamic and chicken broth so you have plenty of the sauce for left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Eh, it was ok. Nothing special. No one in my family raved about it. There was nothing wrong with it but it won't be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I liked it but my family didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This did not turn out very well for me. It had a bit of a funky flavor, perhaps I did not allow the vinegar to cook long enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
this was pretty good, i thought it was too sweet, but everyone else loved it. next time i would cut back on the preserves and put some garlic and maybe some mustard in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Excellent dish, especially considering the first time I made it we had friends over for an impromptu dinner party (I had already started making it when they called inviting us out, so we just invited them over instead), so I just had to cross my fingers that it would turn out ok! Lots of flavor and very straightforward to make. Only differences from how it is written were that I had chicken thigh fillets and the preserves were apricot, peach and passionfruit "fruit spread" so might have had less sugar. I used about 1tsp dried thyme instead of the fresh. We served it with jasmine rice and our friends made "Texas Caviar" as the appetizer. Bliss in the mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
4.5 stars actually. This recipe was quick to prepare and turned out well. Instead of apricot preserves, I used apricot "simply fruit" which may have been a little less sweet...it had the right amount of sweetness in the end. I also used canned apricots instead of dried which were juicier and may have made a little more sauce than originally intended. I added just a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce and served it with orzo pilaf and broccoli. Make sure to serve this with rice or pasta to go along with all of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
ehhhh it was ok...made exactly as written as I always do when trying something new...IF I were to make this again for sure cut back on the preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States