Apricot Chicken with Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a nice and simple recipe for a quick weekneight dinner. I used a little more balsamic vineger than the recipe called for though. It helped to balance out the sweetness. This is a great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
4.5 stars actually. This recipe was quick to prepare and turned out well. Instead of apricot preserves, I used apricot "simply fruit" which may have been a little less sweet...it had the right amount of sweetness in the end. I also used canned apricots instead of dried which were juicier and may have made a little more sauce than originally intended. I added just a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce and served it with orzo pilaf and broccoli. Make sure to serve this with rice or pasta to go along with all of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
We thought this was very good and will do it again in the future. Next time I make it I'm going to add some fresh chopped garlic to the mix shortly after the onions start cooking to give it another layer of flavor. I will also use boneless, skinless thigh fillets instead of breast meat because we just like them better. I made a half recipe for two people and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Fan
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I didn't have dried apricots but I did have 3 fresh peaches on hand. I also used fresh sage. It's a keeper! Balsamic and fruit are a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
We love this! I made it for supper this evening with rice and steamed broccoli. My husband had seconds. As one reviewer mentioned, it's a wonderful blend of sweet and savory. While it simmers, you can prep quick side dishes so everything is ready at the same time. Great weeknight entree. This is definitely a keeper for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Really enjoyed the mix of flavors in this recipe. We had canned apricots and grilled chicken that needed to be used, and this worked great. I substituted the canned apricots for dried and used their juice (no sugar added kind) with a bullion cube instead of the chicken broth. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was not a winner in my household. My husband thought it was too sweet - even after I added the dijon as suggested. I don't think we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
ehhhh it was ok...made exactly as written as I always do when trying something new...IF I were to make this again for sure cut back on the preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Enjoyed this recipe - served over couscous. I wanted a thicker sauce so I added a little corn starch slurry to it in the end and it thickened right up. It felt a little heavy on the thyme flavor, but I suspect that is because I used dried instead of fresh thyme (reduced to 1 tsp.). Next time I will probably cut back on the thyme a little more if using dried. Overall, unique, easy recipe with an interesting mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This recipe is a delicious! It was easy to make, and got rave reviews from my husband. The flavor is sweet and tangy. We served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States