Apricot Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Although I made a few changes...used 3 1/2 lbs. skinless boneless chicken breast halves, homemade chicken based onion soup mix, 11 oz. nectar, 21 dried apricots and cooked it in the crockpot...I think the recipe is wonderful because it provided a good way to use the leftover apricot nectar sitting in the back of the fridge! Nice flavor. I served it with rice and peas & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
ONION SOUP MIX, APRICOT PRESERVES AND CATALINA SALAD DRESSING. MIS TOGETHER AND YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL CHICKEN DISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Some suggestions: skin the chicken; add your favorite seasonings (I added a pinch of Ital. seasoning and some cumin). Definitely double the amt of sauce - it's delicious! Only use 1/2 the amt of onion soup mix. I will definitely make this again - i'm thinking about using a larger package of assorted chicken pieces next time. Marinate for at least a few hours. Cook for 2x the amt of time called for in recipe to get meat very tender and get the sauce to a nice reduced consistency. Add the apricots in for at least the last 1/2 hour so they get a bit mushy with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This dish has a nice mix of salty and sweet flavors. I marinated the chicken for a few hours in the apricot/onion soup mixture and had good results. FYI: It goes nicely with the recipe for honey roasted red potatoes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Very easy to prepare and delicious!!! The onion soup mix and the apricot flavor go very well together, even though the combination may seem strange at first. If you are an onion fan, I would recommend you add a bit more onion soup mix than apricot nectar. The apricot flavor is very tangy and will not be drained out by the addition of more onion. Instead of drained apricot halves, I used an apricot puree. I also allowed the chicken to marinate for 3 hours, although overnight would probably provide even greater results. Clever recipe .. clever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I skinned the chicken thighs (bone in), and added soy sauce & sesame seed oil as another reviewer did. Marinated 3 hours in one pkg of onion soup mix, and two cans of apricot nector (because we use generous amts of sauce when having sticky white rice). The dish was bland in overall flavour; which was limited to 'the first bite:' The chicken (meat) itself wasn't very flavourful either. Next time I try this recipe I'll also add brown sugar/or apricot jam, fresh sliced ginger root, and maybe a bit of chopped garlic to the marinade. Will use a vacuum food bag sealer to marinate (so marinade is pulled into the meat), instead of marinating in a bowl for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great recipe! An eaiser version would be to use boneless, skinless chicken thighs (more moist), catalina dressing, onion soup mix and one can of apricots in light syrup (drained). Mix everything together and bake for 2 hours (stirring every so often). super tasty and its makes a nice sauce. Great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I used 9 skinless chicken thighs, one pack of onion mix and one teaspoon of goya adobo without pepper and two cans of apricot nectar. Instead of baking, I pressure cooked this combo for 8 minutes and cooled at once. It came out way more juicier than when I've baked it. I think next time I will add about a half teaspoon more of adobo to add just a little more salt flavor. So if you are in a pinch for time and don't have an hour of baking time...pressure cook this baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Wow, so easy and very tasty! Definitely a keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I had some leftover apricot nectar to use up, so that's what led me to this recipe. I used drumsticks and found it to be one of the best chicken dishes I've ever eaten. And it couldn't be much easier. The sauce is wonderful over rice. I will make this for a dinner party with boneless thighs for less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States