Apricot Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Made this tonight with breasts and preserves instead of nectar. This just didn't trip our trigger the way that the other recipes do that call for salad dressing. Perhaps if you had the liquid from the apricot halves, that would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I used chicken breasts and turned out pretty good.Very easy, very tender and juicy, and tasted good. I will definitely keep this very simple recipe. One thing, I could not find the apricot nectar, so I used apricot preserve instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This had a nice flavor, but I think it really needs to marinate for a few hours first. After it was done, I thickened the leftover sauce from the pan with flour and made a sort of of apricot gravy for it. Over all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I skinned the chicken thighs (bone in), and added soy sauce & sesame seed oil as another reviewer did. Marinated 3 hours in one pkg of onion soup mix, and two cans of apricot nector (because we use generous amts of sauce when having sticky white rice). The dish was bland in overall flavour; which was limited to 'the first bite:' The chicken (meat) itself wasn't very flavourful either. Next time I try this recipe I'll also add brown sugar/or apricot jam, fresh sliced ginger root, and maybe a bit of chopped garlic to the marinade. Will use a vacuum food bag sealer to marinate (so marinade is pulled into the meat), instead of marinating in a bowl for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
A really solid simple apricot chicken recipe that is really tasty, the addition of the apricot halves is a further dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I altered it a bit for i have not a clue what apricot nectar is! I used the syrp from a can of apricots, a jar of apricot perserves. mixed and heated it so it blends better and added half packet of onion soup mix and marinated for 8 hours and baked. served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I too used 1/2 the onion soup mix as suggested by others. but I was still disapointed with the flavor so I added 3 TBS. soy sauce, 1/4 C. light brown sugar, and 1 tsp. sesame oil. Made for a very nice asian kick... marinated in the frig for 3 hours. Served with steamed rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was a FANTASTIC dish! Three generations of my family loved it. I, too, used about half of the onion mix and marinated the chicken for about 10 hours. Make sure to save the sauce--it tastes wonderful over some plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Although I made a few changes...used 3 1/2 lbs. skinless boneless chicken breast halves, homemade chicken based onion soup mix, 11 oz. nectar, 21 dried apricots and cooked it in the crockpot...I think the recipe is wonderful because it provided a good way to use the leftover apricot nectar sitting in the back of the fridge! Nice flavor. I served it with rice and peas & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This recipe turned out really good. I skinned the chicken and marinated it in the onion and apricot nectar for a few hours. I also baked the apricot halves for about 15mins to get them abit mushy. Will probably make this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States