Apricot Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I had some leftover apricot nectar to use up, so that's what led me to this recipe. I used drumsticks and found it to be one of the best chicken dishes I've ever eaten. And it couldn't be much easier. The sauce is wonderful over rice. I will make this for a dinner party with boneless thighs for less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Fantastic 5 min prep meal. Some of the recipes I find on this site say 10 min prep, but that is only true if you already have all the ingredients prepared i.e. chopping is done. In this case 5 min is the truth. Meal is very tasty and fantastic if you're busy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This chicken didn't have much flavor, I don't know if it needed to marinate or what. We will try this again with peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I used 9 skinless chicken thighs, one pack of onion mix and one teaspoon of goya adobo without pepper and two cans of apricot nectar. Instead of baking, I pressure cooked this combo for 8 minutes and cooled at once. It came out way more juicier than when I've baked it. I think next time I will add about a half teaspoon more of adobo to add just a little more salt flavor. So if you are in a pinch for time and don't have an hour of baking time...pressure cook this baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great recipe! An eaiser version would be to use boneless, skinless chicken thighs (more moist), catalina dressing, onion soup mix and one can of apricots in light syrup (drained). Mix everything together and bake for 2 hours (stirring every so often). super tasty and its makes a nice sauce. Great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was delicious! I used chicken breats instead of thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
We ate it, but it wasn't great. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
The most amazing chicken dish ever. I serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
There is really nothing redeeming about this recipe except that it is easy. I think it's better to use fresh onions and herbs than to use onion soup mix. The canned fruit adds nothng. If one must use the canned fruit, at least add some spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe for a potluck or buffet style party. As others, I made a few minor changes to make it more in line with my style. I salted the chicken, dredged it in flour, and pan fried it in about 2 tbl of oil. I also added 2 tsp of Red Curry Paste to the oil to add a spicy flare to the chicken. Once the chicken was brown, I moved it to the oven to finish cooking and hold. I made the sauce as directed but doubled the Apricot nectar and simmered. About 30 minutes before serving, I combined the chicken with the sauce and simmered. You may want to hold off putting the apricot halves into the sauce until this step. My thanks to the original author of this recipe for posting this wonderful recipe. It is very simple and easily accommodating to your own style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLANETJOEL

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States