Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The flavor is delicious. Apricot was not a favorite of ours until we tried this recipe. One caution about other reviewers' suggestions to cook in a crock pot. The first time, we did the crock pot method at low for about six hours and the chicken was way over-cooked and dry. So if using crock pot, cut down time to about 2 1/2 hours to 3 and check to ensure chicken stays moist. The second time, we did in traditional oven and I still managed to overcook the chicken. I think the reason is I don't use 6 breasts; I only use about 3 to feed just my hubby and me. So if using less chicken, cut back cooking time. Those errors are my fault, so no impact on this recipe. The flavor of the sauce on chicken and over rice is excellent! We'll definitely make it again and again! I also would serve this dish for company. Thanks, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Since it is boneless chicken breast, the flavor depends on the sauce or spices. To me, the sauce wasn't good enough to desire the dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have tried this recipe two ways, with the Wishbone Russian Dressing and with Catalina. Russian is harder to find sometimes, but I believe it to be clearly superior for this recipe over Catalina, which I like but not for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I had never tried Apricot Chicken before, and I really enjoyed it. I followed some reviewer advice and used only one package of the onion soup mix, and Catalina dressing instead of the Russian. Served it over some brown rice - awesome! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
In an effort to cut some of the sugar and based on another reviewers suggestion, I used fat free Catalina dressing and Smuckers reduced sugar apricot jam and it was still to sweet for my taste. However hubby loved this recipe as it definitely satisfied his sweet tooth. NOTE: This is an excellent crockpot recipe with cook time of approximately 6 hours on low. Serve on a bed of rice, sprinkle with crushed peanuts and it's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Super easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is now a family favorite. Made exactly as directed, just bulked it up for my big family. Served with rice and poured drippings over rice. Even my picky kids that won't eat chicken breast because they say its to dry, loved this dish. Will make again. May try different preserves for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is amazing! I was given it at my bridal shower. Everyone I make it for asks for the recipe. It is very tasty. I also season the chicken. Serve over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was a sweet dish and a little tangy, I guess that was the dressing. This was really simple to fix and used ingredients I usually have on hand. Easy enough for a busy weeknight meal with no hassle. This did not make our favorites though, so I probably won't fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Omg. So easy and my new favorite meal! I used frozen chicken and it turned out perfect! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States