Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is such great recipe. "What tender chicken!" everyone moaned -- with full mouths. So I made this "as written" the first couple of times and served it over brown rice. Always one to experiment, I added a few touches the third time I reached for this gem-of-a-recipe. Here's what I did: Lots more chicken (family pack). Used only one pkg. of dry onion soup mix, to which I added: the apricot preserves; 1/3 C. good-quality DRY Sherry (please, not "cooking Sherry"); 1 tsp. DRY mustard; 1 tsp. ground WHITE pepper; and 1 C. raisins. Also, I used "Light" Catalina Dressing. The beauty of this, though, is that Shirley's recipe is delicious as it is. But if you have some extra time and want to add a bit of flare, the sky's the limit! Cook time can be less, like 45 min., so be careful or chicken will dry out. Thank you Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My boyfriend makes this exquisite dish for me. It is one of his family favorites, handed down to him. Only, instead of baking it, he saute's the boneless chicken pieces in a skillet with a little olive oil until the pink is gone, and the outside is a little browned. Then he adds the the sauce, reduces the heat, covers and simmers it, and ... Yummmmm! Don't forget to stir it periodically so it doesn't stick. This skillet method cuts cook time down considerably!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was yummy! I used peach/apricot jam instead of apricot preserves because that is what we had on hand. We also made our russian dressing from a recipe on this website (much cheaper and super yummy!) I reserved some of the sauce and cooked dried apricots that we had reconstituted in it and served it over the chicken and couscous. AMAZING! Tangy, Fun & Flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
as I was making this, I thought to myself that these ingredients sound disgusting together. fortunately, what sounded bad together was great! i served it with rice pilaf with chopped dried apricots and don't recommend that. the sauce is sweet enough and flavorful enough to only need plain rice (brown or white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I've been using this recipe for years on chicken wings, the only thing I do different is I bake them for a couple hours in a foil lined pan at 300, turn them and watch them, the sauce gets carmelized and fall of the bone good, I bring them to all Christmas get-togethers in a crock pot to keep warm on a buffet table, everyone requests them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My husband made this dish is was soooo good, the russian dressing really makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This recipe is amazing! It's so simple yet extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
WOW! This recipe was, simply, delicious! Let me tell you all something, being a novice in kitchen affairs, this was the easiest and tastiest thing I've done thus far! Even my mom, who is a picky Latina enjoyed it! I read some of the reviews and decided to add the minced garlic and I am glad I did. There is no doubt in my mind I will be recommending this recipe to my family and friends! thanks for posting this amazing recipe up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dooruhh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is very good. I only used 1 packet of the onion soup mix and it was perfect- not too salty, and not an over powering onion taste. I doubled the sauce and served it with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This chicken was awesome and so fast and easy to make. I used the Catalina dressing because I couldn't find the Russian and it was great! My daughter made it with Russian and said she preferred mine over hers. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States