Apricot Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!! I didn't have more than 1 pack of the Lipton Onion Soup mix, but it was fine. Have leftovers for lunch today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe!! Easy to prep and yummy! I will have to try some of the suggestions from others next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. My only suggestion is to use a single use aluminum baking pan as it is a chore to clean up. The recipe is delicious and I prepared fresh green beans and new potatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
A definite crowd pleaser, and so easy to make . My kids ask for this often. The sauce goes well when poured over rice or other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I didn't have enough apricot preserves so in it's place I used the same amount of some apple chutney, and the rest of the recipe was the same. Turned out really good. I served it over brown rice. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I modified a bit, it made lots of sauce so I saved some and used later. I used skinless thighs, only one onion soup mix and red Russian dressing only 8 oz. baked for 1&1/2 hours covered, then flipped them, put back in oven 30+minutes. This is the only way I can tolerate chicken thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
SO easy and amazing! Like another reviewer said I just use the small bottle of Russian (I think it's 8oz)and its perfect. It does come out abit runny which it would be nice if the sauce stayed thicker. Maybe some day I will try to mix in cornstarch or flour and see what happens :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made the recipe according to the directions, and it turned out pretty bland. I don't know if it was the brand of Russian dressing I used (Kroger brand), but I think I may look for a different recipe for this dish in the future. I couldn't taste the apricot at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Delicious and very easy to make. Definitely a "make again" in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This dish is very forgiving—you can easily substitute thousand island dressing for the Russian dressing, vary the amounts of the ingredients to taste, use different chicken parts, or move the whole thing to a crock pot. The crock pot version is juicier than the oven version but still very good. Chicken thighs work very well in this recipe and are usually cheaper than breasts. I've tried searing the chicken before combining with the other ingredients, but that doesn't seem to make enough of a difference to bother with. I've also tried adding dried apricots, which was very successful. My favorite version so far has been 12 chicken thighs, 1 bottle of thousand island dressing, 1 envelope of onion-soup mix, 1 jar of apricot jam, and 8 ounces of diced dried apricots, all cooked in a crock pot on high for four hours. Overall, this is a good basic, easy recipe that's a big hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States