Apricot Brown Sugar Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this recipe last night. The ham was very moist and just had the right sweetness/saltiness. My only problem was the brown sugar/apricot preserve mixture. It was really pasty and very difficult for me to apply on the ham. The mixture kept falling off. I had to press it firmly to the ham to make it stay. Does it make a difference using preserve and jam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this for Easter breakfast this morning. I am not very fussy about ham but what's Easter without ham, it was down right succulent. I didn't have dry mustard on hand so I used a teaspoon of French's prepared mustard. WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutestfox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Espanola, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I didn't have apricot preserves, so instead used peach preserves. What a wonderful and delicious crust it created! Will certainly be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sullivan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I took others' suggestions and made this in the crockpot: low for 4 hours. It came out wonderfully moist and falling off the bone, but the glaze didn't come to fruition -- too much stock in the bottom I think. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This ham is delicious! Our grocer doesn't carry apricot jam, though. We could only find preserves so I had to pick out the fruit chunks. To save some money I also decided to use the mustard we already had in the house instead of buying mustard powder. It turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RettaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
INSTEAD OF THE APRICOT JAM I USE JELLIED CRANBERRY SAUCE. EVEN THE OTHER COOKS IN THE FAMILY CAN'T KEEP THEIR FINGERS OUT OF THE GLAZE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is de-li-cious! Very easy to do and everyone raved about the results. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T and couldn't have asked for a better ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I doubled the sauce and brushed it on throughout the cooking time. Absolutely delicious! Next time I might just brush most of the sauce on and let it cook in foil without disruption. Made this for Christmas dinner- outstanding! We will definitely use this recipe for future ham in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
WOW! This smelled fantastic! As a vegetarian, I didn't eat it, but sure was tempted to convert to meat-eater! ;-) My husband and kids LOVED it! After it was cooked, I drained the juices from the pan, combined with cornstarch in a pan and cooked on the stove for 15 min or so to thicken into a dipping sauce. Everybody loved it! And it was SO simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States