Apricot Brown Sugar Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made a great ham!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I found the juice didn't soak in and was just in a puddle at the bottom. Also, after 14 minutes per pound (I had a 2lb ham) the inside was still cold. I didn't have a spiral cut ham though so this could be why these things happened. I salvaged it by cranking up the heat to 400, redipping the ham in the glaze and cooking it uncovered for 10 minutes, the outside crisped up nicely and had good flavor. I will retry this recipe with a spiral ham to see if it cooks faster and soaks up more of the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used Crushed pineapple with a little juice. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Thought I had apricot preserves, but only had peach, so I had to make that substitution. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. The foil kept the ham nice and moist. I opened it and glazed again, per the directions, and let it cook for another 20-30 minutes uncovered (8lb spiral ham). It came out fantastic! BF said it was the best ham he's ever had, 5 stars from both of us - thanks!! UPDATE 6/25/11 I've made this several times now, but have made a small change: decreased the preserves to 1/4c and also add 1/4c of honey. Still loving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I doubled the glaze ingredients because we like extra. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used this glaze for my Christmas ham this year. I ended up with way too much glaze for my ham, though mine wasn't spiral cut, which may have made a difference. It was really quick and easy, and I was able to make the glaze a day ahead so the day-of prep was a snap, leaving me to actually enjoy the day with my family. I substituted a Peach Mango jam for apricot, and I think you could do a lot of experimentation with the jams/sweeetners to customize the dish to the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Conway Duran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Tasty. will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We made this for dinner last night. I didn't get a spiral cut ham because I was going to use it for Bean soup, but DH decided he wanted a baked ham instead, so I used this recipe and was amazed that the flavors went all the way through! Very good! We will be saving this recipe and using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I did not follow the recipe even remotely exactly. I used blackberry preserves instead of apricot jam, no brown sugar, brown mustard instead of mustard powder, and cooked it in the crock pot on low. It came out wonderfully - falling-apart, juicy, tangy, and it was so easy to pull the bone out. The sauce made a wonderful gravy, perfect for mashed potatoes or for dipping fresh toast strips. Big hit with the kids, too! This recipe might be perfect as written, but it's perfect if you take great liberties as well. I think I will be buying up a number of hams while they are cheap post-Christmas and making this part of our normal meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Followed the directions as is and it was fabulous! They leftovers were great for sandwiches. The foil kept it juicy and mess free. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States