Apricot Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've made this twice now in the crock pot, both times for entertaining, and both times the guests asked for the recipe...and followed up with me afterwards to make sure I sent it out. And it's so easy to make, so I'd say it's a hit. The sweet of the apricots combines beautifully with the beef...mmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Like any good brisket, this takes a while to cook You shouldn't dismiss apricots as dressing for beef. The flavors go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I used a 8 pound brisket, trimmed of half the fat. My family loved it. Apricots ended up almost jam like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Hands down the best brisket. My family loves the slightly sweet tangy gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This amazing! I made a few modifications based on what I had in the house. 1-I only had a flank steak in the house so I used that. 2-I used fresh apricots lightly coated in sugar instead of dried. 3-I cooked it in a crockpot. This is a GREAT recipe!!! Serve it on a bed of wild rice with fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I have been making this recipe for a few years now with some modifications that make this recipe out of this world. Firstly, I braise the beef in butter and olive oil. Second, I add shallots and a few more cloves of garlic. Third, and this is the clincher, I use blackberry and/or cherry wine AND beef broth to cover the beef instead of water. If I need to add more liquid, I just keep adding wine!! I usually cook it for the full 3 1/2 hours. This thing falls apart, it is so moist and tender. You will not believe the carmelized flavor of the onions and apricots mixed with the sweetness of the fruit wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was great!!! I didn't have dried apricots and I had plenty of canned apricots so I used the canned ones and it turned out great!!! I poured the juice from the can over the brisket and placed the apricots on top. I will be making all my briskets like this now!!! It fell right apart so moist and tender and we loved the flavor ! Even my" I won't eat anything" DS loved it thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Thank You Abbey, this brisket was a total success! I browned it and added the rest of the ingreds, poured in some water and popped it in the oven. I cooked it for just about 3 hours on 300 degrees. About a half an hour before I served it, I turned it off and let it rest. It turned out sooo tender. The drippings had just a bit of sweetness and went perfectly with the mashed potatoes I made with it. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I make brisket in a slightly different way, and it's equally delicious. First, I add a package of dry onion soup to the underside of the brisket and one to the top of the meat. Then I put a can of crushed pineapple AND the juices on the top to mix around with a fork and the same amt. of crushed pineapple to the underside, always blending in the 2 ingredients. The taste is subtle but very rich when the pineapple connects with the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was really yummy! Followed directions with no changes and it came out great. The apricots melt into the onion soup mix and drippings making a delicious gravy. Very much comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States