Apricot Brandy Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I made it for an office party, and it got rave reviews. It was a real crowd-pleaser. I made mine with apricot nectar rather than brandy, but added in a couple of big spoonfuls of apricot preserves. I also used an apricot almond glaze, made with 1/4 cup apricot nector, 1-1/2 cups powdered sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. I loved the texture and the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Love, love this recipe!! I have the exact recipe given to me by my great-grandmother!! You can not go wrong with this recipe--it is absolutely Delicious!! At the bottom of my recipe, my great-grandmother wrote--"Keeps well-If you hide it!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Love this cake it is so moist and favorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENOTA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family has made this cake for decades; the recipe from my grandmother is exactly the same except for 1/2 tsp. almond extract and baking 80 minutes instead of 60. The real key to this recipe is aging: take the finished cake, once cool, and wrap it in a tea towel dipped in apricot brandy. Place the wrapped cake in an air-tight container and store in a cool, dry place for 2-3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very tasty cake. My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is one of the best pound cakes I have ever had, very moist and flavourful. Next time will add chopped dried apricots, we love apricots! I used apricot nectar instead of brandy because they were gifts for families with young children. I made 5 mini loaves, baked at 325 for 55 minutes. 4 for my sons teachers, 1 for us! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I have had people offer to pay me to make them this cake; it's extremely moist and full of great flavors. It's become a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this recipe last year and it's excellent! Try cubing for a chocolate fondue or chocolate fountain dessert night. You can freeze the cubes for future use, but they also make a great frozen treat. Yumm! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is an excellent cake. Very moist.I increased all the extracts as I like very flavorful cakes (I always increase the extracts in a recipe) Do not omit any ingredients. My husband loved it! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States