Apricot Brandy Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
I just made this cake for the first time. I am not much for pound cake, but this one is excellent. It's moist, flavorful and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Given that a yellow boxed cake mix will almost always identify itself to the taste buds, this is very good--again, for a yellow cake mix. What caught my eye on this cake was that sour cream provided the only fat--no butter or shortening. I'm sure this is why the crumb was a little different, kind of like a sponge cake. I substituted apricot nectar for the apricot brandy and in addition to the other extracts, 1/2 tsp. of butter flavoring (anything to try and cover up that dead giveaway cake mix taste!). I made it in a tube pan, then glazed it, top side up, with a mixture of powdered sugar, apricot nectar and a dribble of corn syrup. It's a pretty cake, tall and delicately yellow, with a balanced blend of flavors, none of them dominant. Light and moist, this is tasty and satisfying on it's own and not overly sweet. It would also be the perfect cake to use in a trifle or just topped with fruit and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Excellent cake. I made 3 in the last 2 weeks as gifts. Didn't have apricot brandy so I used Hungarian pear brandy. Used fat free sour cream and "Egg Beaters" (instead of eggs) for a "lighter" version of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
A bit different. I made it for Christmas presents last year and got many compliments. Freezes very well. I wrapped it in apricot brandy-soaked cheesecloth to give it added oomph. Very adaptable for toppings although it is rich enough to stand on its own merits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Outstanding cake, Joyce. Thanks for sharing. I didn't change a thing. This recipe is perfect as is! Next time I'll try either some lemon yogurt over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Of all the cake recipes I've made with pkg. cake mixes this has to be the best. Everyone who has tried it, loves it. I plan to use it for an upcoming wedding cake. Very good with seasonal fruit and custard sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Don't change anything! This cake is to die for as is. I've made 2 so far and everyone loves it!! No frosting needed...best with a dusting of powdered sugar. Janie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This review is easy... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This cake was expensive to make with the brandy and the different extracts and just not special. If I made it again, I would make an orange juice powdered sugar icing to pour over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Joyce Carcarra, the picture you entered of this cake shows the cake to be the most beautifully decorated cake i have ever seen! mine wasn't as beautiful, but it tasted as good as yours looked. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States