Apricot Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
READ THE OTHER REVIEWS!!! 1/2 the base, double the filling (yes, add a few tablespoons of water), and add 1 cup of each chocolate chips and sweetened coconut sprinkled on top, and then you are good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were not good. I should have figured from the amount of changes that other reviewers had to make that it wasn't a good one to use. I made these to add to my Christmas goodie plate, but will just end up putting them in the trash. Everyone who says that there is too much base is totally right, cut it in half at least. It was really hard to mix. There is too much of it to fit in my stand mixer and I had to do it by hand, but it is a very dense dough and hard to do. Also, I had to add water to my apricot mixture because there wasn't enough moisture in the dried apricots to make a preserve with just those the lemon juice and the sugar. The apricots kept getting scorched at the bottom of the pan before I added the water. The flavors weren't even very good. The only reason I gave it two stars instead of just one is because they were moist. I will not make this recipe again. Dried apricots are expensive so this was a very expensive experiment/mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great after you fix the cups of oatmeal & flour. I cut in 1/2 & added more apricot. My family loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I cut all the ingredients in half but those for the apricot filling. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract to the oatmeal/flour mixture. With these changes, it was delicious! My husband and I have been eating giant squares of apricot bars every night since we made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I had a bar like this at a Fall Fair and it was wonderful. The porportions for this were for a much bigger pan and not a 9X13. First time,I made it in a 9X13, it was very dense and second time was in a 11X15 and still pretty thick, so I will halve the recipe for the jelly roll pan and double the filling. It was exactly the recipe I was looking for and is delicious if in the right pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
The quantities for the crust are hugely in error. I should have decreased the amounts by at least half for the crust and doubled the apricot filling portion. They also need more flavor, perhaps some cinnamon and/or nutmeg and/or vanilla. Since I didn't do any of the above, the results were awful. I ended up with a pan full of oatmeal bricks! They were so dense and unapetizing, we ened up throwing them away, which is something we rarely do in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
**Please check the scaling on this recipe** I questioned myself on using the 8 cups of oats, and the 4 cups of flour (12 cups total)not to mention the 2 cups of butter and 3.5 cups of sugars (all for one 13 x 9" pan, 24 servings), but proceeded with the recipe anyway. The results? I had an extremely dense and heavy oatmeal bar with a thin sliver of apricots. Of course we still ate it, which was pretty good after all, but I did receive some digs after taking it a work luncheon the next day. Maybe an Internet glitch caused the scaling to get out of proportion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
OMG these were soooooooooo good!!! they were the most addicting thing ive ever eaten! the crust was so nice and chewy and the middle was so flavourful! i used dates as well as apricots for the preserves, and also doubled just that layer because i found there wasnt quite enough when i spread it on to the base. everyone who tried these LOVED them and got addicted too! Eat with a glass of apple or orange juice as a great snack (because the crust can make you thirsty) or for desert, heat up with vanilla ice cream. mmmmmm... i seriously cant say enough about these! A MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States