Apricot Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
These are very addicting for me! My family members didn't love them as much, but I have to be careful in having them around! I have tried them with pecans also, but really like English walnuts better on these. Thanks Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my sister (she is on a liver transplant list) because it is so VERY VERY low sodium -- only sodium is from the egg. I used one whole egg instead of the 2 yolks and 1/2 graham flour and 1/2 white. Used 1/2 jar of apricot preserves and sliced almonds. It was great! Next batch will be with seedless blackberry preserves and chopped walnuts that I have on hand, but I'm afraid the sliced almonds (and maybe the part hertier flour) really made this. I made 5 batches of low/no sodium cookies and this was the best to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
These were really really good. Made my own quick preserves to put on top...didn't have any nus so I put coconut on top...really yummy...like shortbread with an apricot/coconut topping...will do again with other toppings Have tried with lingonberry preserves with a oatmeal/brown sugar toppng...these came out wonderful...tart yet sweet...perfect for a Norwegian potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
YUM! The crust is absolutely fabulous! I may try it without the walnuts next time though. Or maybe with almonds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
Everyone loved these. The second baking took a little longer than the recipe indicates. I've also tried this using raspberry preserves. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
OH MY GOD!!! I made these as part of a friends wedding buffet, and they were SCARFED DOWN!!! Also, I included them in my holiday cookie tray for work, and they were the first ones gone. Great easy recipe--reminds me of my Hungarian grandmothers Linzer cookies! :-) A MUST TRY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
EXCELLENT!! These are so incredible - people just rave over these when I make them. Thank you Marian for this delicious cookie bar!! P.S. Not sure what the last lady did...but I bet money is was the turkey NOT the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is a keeper. I, too, had to bake the 2nd go-around much longer, as the crust was too soft. But the end result was worth the extra time. I used toasted almonds in place of walnuts, as hubby is allergic to walnuts. And, I used fresh apricots mixed w/sugar blended in a food processor and cooked for 5 minutes in lieu of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
It is hard to stop at just one! I used almonds rather than walnuts, and baked it longer the first time (it just looked un-done). Next time I make these, I probably will grease the pan too, because they are hard to get out once they've cooled! I can't wait to share these little gems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Awesomely delicious! I put 1/4 t. almond extract in the base and almonds on top, made half w/raspberry and 1/2 w/apricot. Quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States